Sleater-Kinney Members, Stephen Malkmus Record New Songs for Protest LP

Pay-what-you-want comp 'Battle Hymns' raises money for Planned Parenthood, ACLU and

Members of Sleater-Kinney, Stephen Malkmus and Built to Spill's Doug Martsch are among the artists who have contributed new music to 'Battle Hymns.' Credit: Taylor Hill/WireImage/Getty, Mike Lawrie/Getty

Members of Sleater-Kinney, Stephen Malkmus and Built to Spill's Doug Martsch are among the artists who have contributed new music to Battle Hymns, an Inauguration Day release that was created in direct response of the political climate in the United States.

Proceeds from the collection of "protest songs" will be divided between Planned Parenthood, the ACLU and Battle Hymns is available now as a pay-as-you-want download through the Quasi site. Quasi's Sam Coomes and Janet Weiss served as a backing band on some of Battle Hymns' tracks and contribute their own track "Ballad of Donald Duck & Elmer Fudd."

Weiss' Sleater-Kinney bandmates Corin Tucker and Carrie Brownstein also appear on the comp: Brownstein and Katie Harkin's MEDS project offer up "No More Fizz." Filthy Friends – a supergroup featuring Tucker, R.E.M.'s Peter Buck and the Minus 5's Scott McCaughey, Kurt Bloch and Bill Rieflin – recorded "Love In The Time of Resistance." Filthy Friends previously recorded the Anti-Trump track "Despierta."

Malkmus' "Midnight Cruisers," Martsch's aptly titled "Fuck 2016" and Mac McCaughan's appropriate "Happy New Year (Prince Can't Die Again)" also highlight the Battle Hymns comp, which also features new tracks by A.C. Newman, Boss Hog, Mary Timony and the Spinanes' Rebecca Gates.

Battle Hymns Track List

1. Love Always (Kathy Foster) - "We Won't Go Back"
2. Mac McCaughan - "Happy New Year (Prince Can't Die Again)"
3. Boss Hog - "Save Our Soul"
4. Stephen Malkmus - "Midnight Cruisers"
5. Drew Grow - "Time Bomb"
6. MEDS (Carrie Brownstein and Katie Harkin) - "No More Fizz"
7. Mary Timony - "Fight The Hate"
8. Quasi - "Ballad of Donald Duck & Elmer Fudd"
9. Libraness (Ash Bowie) - "A Kind of Survival"
10. Filthy Friends (Corin Tucker, Peter Buck, Scott McCaughey, Kurt Bloch, Bill Rieflin) - "Love In The Time of Resistance"
11. Carl Newman - "Our Nero"
12. Rebecca Gates - "NO DIVISION"
13. Doug Martsch - "Fuck 2016"
14. Sean Croghan - "Spider House"