Farrar Sings the Blues

Former Tupelo, Son Volt frontman wraps second solo album

Jay Farrar will release his second solo album, Terroir Blues, on May 20th. The record will be Farrar's first for his newly minted label, Act/Resist Records.

Terroir Blues should find a middle ground between the rootsy sound Farrar defined with Son Volt and the more experimental sounds of his 2001 solo debut, Sebastopol. The collection of twenty-three tracks will include new original songs, some instrumental pieces and a few alternate take odds and ends. Superchunk drummer Jon Wurster makes a guest appearance, along with Eric Heywood (who played pedal steel guitar for Son Volt), Bottle Rockets frontman Brian Henneman and Blood Oranges guitarist Mark Spencer.

Since putting Son Volt on hiatus after 1998's Wide Swing Tremolo, Farrar has been prolific in the studio. He enlisted Flaming Lips keyboardist Steven Drozd and Wurster as he stepped away from the alt-fringe-country rock on Sebastopol two years ago. And last year, he released ThirdShiftGrottoSlack, an EP that featured a remix of Sebastopol's "Damn Shame," along with four unreleased tracks. He also wrote the score and coordinated the soundtrack for the independent film, The Slaughter Rule, which was released earlier this year.

In other Farrar-related news, the first three albums by his former outfit, Uncle Tupelo, will be reissued by Columbia/Legacy on April 15th. No Depression will include six bonus tracks of unreleased demos and B-sides; Still Feel Gone will be padded with five demos; and March 16-20, 1992 will include a cover of the Stooges' "I Wanna Be Your Dog" and the theme to The Waltons. Rhino recently reissued the band's final album, Anondyne, with a handful of previously unreleased material.