Cramer, Ostin to Enter Hall

Sidemen and Non-performers announced for class of 2003

Pianist Floyd Cramer, drummer Benny Benjamin, saxophonist Steve Douglas and producer Mo Ostin will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's class of 2003 in the Sidemen and Non-performer categories.

The Louisiana-born Cramer helped define the Nashville Sound that dominated country music during his nearly half century of performing. Cramer developed a signature style on piano, slurring one note into another, much like a guitarist. And he became the pianoman of choice among country's stars including Patsy Cline, Johnny Cash, Ernest Tubb, Marty Robbins, Don Gibson and dozens of others. He also played with some of country's rock & roll cousins including the Everly Brothers and Roy Orbison. Cramer also played numerous sessions with Elvis Presley including "Heartbreak Hotel." Though best-known as a sideman, Cramer was also a fairly prolific solo recording artist, from his 1957 debut, That Honky Tonk Piano, up to the time of his death in 1997.

Drummer Benny Benjamin kept the beat for the famous Motown house band, the Funk Brothers. The St. Croix, Virgin Islands, native began playing in the 1940s. But he was best known for his Sixties stretch where he and the Funk Brothers -- which also included bassist James Jamerson, who was inducted as a sideman three years ago -- backed up the Temptations, the Supremes, the Four Tops and Marvin Gaye. Benjamin died in 1969.

Steve Douglas played saxophone in the "Wrecking Crew," the session team that worked with Phil Spector at the Goldstar Studio in Los Angeles. His resume also includes work on the Beach Boys' Pet Sounds, and sessions with Bob Dylan, Sam Cooke, John Lennon, fellow Rock Hall inductees the Righteous Brothers and others. Douglas died in 1993 at age fifty-five.

Mo Ostin helped establish Warner Bros. Records one of the world's most successful record labels. Ostin was brought in to work at Frank Sinatra's fledgling Reprise Records in the early Sixties, and when the company was purchased by Warner Bros., he oversaw a roster of artists that includes Neil Young, Van Morrison, Joni Mitchell, Paul Simon and others. He continued to guide Warner in the Eighties, helping to acquire acts including R.E.M. and the Red Hot Chili Peppers. He left Warner in the mid-Nineties and now works as an executive at Dreamworks Records.

As previously reported, Elvis Costello and the Attractions, the Clash, the Police, AC/DC and the Righteous Brothers will be inducted as 2003's artists.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled for March 10th at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. The ceremony will be broadcast by VH1 on March 19th.