Bob Seger, Gordon Lightfoot, Jim Steinman Inducted into Songwriters Hall of Fame

Don Schlitz ('The Gambler') also honored at 43rd annual ceremony

Inductees attend the Songwriters Hall of Fame 43rd Annual induction and awards in New York City. Credit: Larry Busacca/Getty Images for Songwriters Hall Of Fame

Detroit rocker Bob Seger, Canadian folk icon Gordon Lightfoot and longtime Meat Loaf collaborator Jim Steinman were among those inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame last night. The Hall also inducted Don Schlitz, who won a Grammy in 1978 for Kenny Rogers' "The Gambler," and the Broadway duo of Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones (The Fantasticks). Three-time Grammy winner R&B singer Ne-Yo was presented with the Hal David Starlight Award, which celebrates an exceptional young songwriter.

"I can never repay him," said Meat Loaf on Steinman, who wrote all the lyrics and music to Bat Out of Hell and Bat Out 0f Hell II and also penned Bonnie Tyler's 1983 hit "Total Eclipse of the Heart."

The Songwriters Hall of Fame was established in 1969 and has exhibits within the Grammy Museum in Los Angeles. An online archive of inductees is available on the Hall's website.