Anastasio Wins Big at Jammys

Gov't Mule, Robert Randolph among others honored

Trey Anastasio won Studio Album of the Year for his self-titled solo debut and Tour of the Year at the third annual Jammy Awards, held at the Roseland Ballroom in New York City last night. Anastasio and Phish also took home an award for Archival Album of the year for Live Phish 11: 11/17/97, part of the group's extensive, authorized bootleg series.

Bob Weir was on hand to accept the Jammys' Lifetime Achievement Award on behalf of the Grateful Dead. Weir and his band Ratdog also performed, closing the festivities with "Lovelight," featuring an unbilled appearance by Anastasio, along with Warren Haynes, John Popper and others. The Allman Brothers Band also made a surprise appearance, joining Haynes and Gov't Mule (who won Song of the Year for "Soulshine") for "Desdemona." The Tom Tom Club along with the Dirty Dozen Brass Band served as the evening's house band.

The Jammy Award winners are determined by fans who vote at a variety of Web sites and through Relix magazine.

Complete list of winners:

Live Performance of the Year: Moe, Bonnaroo Music Festival, 6/23/02
Tour of the Year: Trey Anastasio, Summer 2002
Studio Album of the Year: Trey Anastasio, Trey Anastasio
Live Album of the Year: Widespread Panic, Live in the Classic City
Archival Album of the Year: Phish, Live Phish 11: 11/17/97
Song of the Year: "Soulshine," Gov't Mule
New Groove of the Year: Robert Randolph and the Family Band
Lifetime Achievement Award: The Grateful Dead