Home Music Music News

Yasiin Bey’s December 99th Project Announces Debut LP

Rapper formerly known as Mos Def teams with producer Ferrari Sheppard for nine-track album

Yasiin Bey, December 99th Project, Announces, Debut LP

Yasiin Bey, the rapper formerly known as Mos Def, has announced the debut album for his December 99th project with producer Ferrari Sheppard.

Ollie Millington/Redferns/Getty

Yasiin Bey, the rapper formerly known as Mos Def, announced the debut album for his December 99th project, his collaboration with producer Ferrari Sheppard. December 99th is fittingly due out on December 9th.

The duo’s nine-track December 99th features previously released cuts “N.A.W.” and “Local Time” (but not “HYMN”). The duo “spent the last year recording in South Africa” while Bey “awaited his departure from the country,” the duo said in a statement (via Pitchfork).

In addition to December 99th, Bey recently announced that he would perform his “final” U.S. shows in December. Those gigs, scheduled for New York City’s Apollo Theater on December 21st and Washington D.C.’s the Kennedy Center Concert Hall from December 31st through January 2nd, will focus on Bey’s Mos Def catalog. The shows will also include new material and surprise special guests.

Earlier this month, Bey was finally granted permission to leave South Africa on the stipulation that he doesn’t return following his January arrest for attempting to travel on a “world passport.” 

Following the performances, Bey will relocate to Africa to focus on an arts, culture and lifestyle collective named A Country Called Earth.

December 99th Track List

1. “N.A.W.”
2. “Blade In The Pocket”
3. “SPESH”
4. “Local Time”
5. “Tall Sleeves”
6. “Seaside Panic Room”
7. “Shadow In the Dark”
8. “It Goes”
9. “Special Dedication”


Powered by