Wilco, Guster and Furthur Members to Recreate 'The Last Waltz' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Wilco, Guster and Furthur Members to Recreate ‘The Last Waltz’

All 41 songs from original event will be performed at Port Chester’s Capitol Theater

Bob Dylan Robbie Robertson The Last WaltzBob Dylan Robbie Robertson The Last Waltz

Bob Dylan and Robbie Robertson perform during the Last Waltz in San Francisco.

Larry Hulst/Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Images

Almost 37 years to the day after the Band staged their farewell gig, the “Last Waltz,” at San Francisco’s Winterland Ballroom, members of Wilco, Furthur, Guster, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Blitzen Trapper, Delta Spirit and many other groups are coming together at the Capitol Theater in Port Chester, New York to recreate the complete concert. It’s the first East Coast event by Golden Gate Presents, who staged a similar event last year at the Warfield in San Francisco. Tickets are on sale now for the November 27th show.

Watch Neil Diamond at ‘The Last Waltz’

Billed as “The Complete Last Waltz,” the show will feature all 41 songs performed at the original Last Waltz. That includes tunes performed by guests including Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, Van Morrison, Muddy Waters, Neil Diamond and more. Many songs will be performed that didn’t make the cut in the Last Waltz movie and soundtrack, including Young’s cover of “Four Strong Winds” and the Band’s cover of “Georgia on My Mind.”

The original Last Waltz featured Michael McClure reading from The Canterbury Tales and Lawrence Ferlinghetti reciting the poem “Loud Prayer.” Actor Josh Lucas and author Colin Broderick will read these same works at The Complete Last Waltz

Here is a list of confirmed artists for the show:

Alec Ounsworth (Clap Your Hands Say Yeah)
Alecia Chakour (Warren Haynes Band)
Andy Cabic (Vetiver)
Cass McCombs
Dave Dreiwitz (Ween)
Eric Earley (Blitzen Trapper)
Eric Johnson (Fruit Bats)
Jeff Chimenti (Furthur)
Jocie Adams (The Low Anthem)
Joe Russo (Furthur)
John Roderick (The Long Winters)
Jordan McClean (Antibalas)
Josh Kaufman (Yellowbirds)
Marc Black
Marco Benevento
Matt Vasquez (Delta Spirit)
Nels Cline (Wilco)
Nicole Atkins
Ryan Miller (Guster)
Sam Cohen (Yellowbirds)
Scott Metzger (Wolf!)
Stuart Bogie (Superhuman Happiness)

In This Article: Furthur, The Band, Wilco


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.