Wilco Get Experimental On June Album: Update Plus Early Track List - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Wilco Get Experimental On June Album: Update Plus Early Track List

In Rolling Stone‘s Spring Album Preview, Jeff Tweedy says Wilco‘s country-tinged album, due in June, is their best yet. “We wanted to go in there with more of an eye for sculpting something sonically,” he says. The group also confirmed that the album’s closing track, “You and I,” will feature Canadian songstress Feist on vocals.

Today Wilco took to their official Website to tell fans they’ve spent the past few weeks in Valencia, California, mixing the disc. The band adds, “Here’s a list of song titles spied on the reels — note this is not necessarily complete and not in sequence:”

“Deeper Down”
“Conscript (aka I’ll Fight)”
“One Wing”
“Wilco (the song)”
“Country Disappeared”
“Bull Black Nova”
“Sonny Feeling”
“You and I”

You read that right. As of right now, there is a song called “Wilco (the song)” on the album. How “Bad Company” of them. As we reported in the Spring Album preview, the theme song of sorts contains the chorus “Wilco will love you.” The album’s experimentation is anchored once again by Tweedy’s sly, insightful and often heartbreaking lyrics. “Deeper Down” opens with “By the end of the bout, he was punched out, fists capsized, muscles shouting,” while “My Country Disappeared” explores America’s “crushed cities,” concluding “There’s nothing left here.” For much more on the upcoming Wilco album, and 45 more of the biggest releases on the way, check out our Spring Music Preview:

Spring Music Preview: Inside 45 of the Year’s Biggest Albums

In This Article: Wilco


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.