White Zombie Revive Early Noise Rock Material for Massive Box Set - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

White Zombie Revive Early Noise Rock Material for Massive Box Set

‘It Came From N.Y.C.’ documents band’s formative years

White ZombieWhite Zombie

White Zombie have revived their early noise-rock recordings for a massive box set, 'It Came From N.Y.C.'

Catherine McGann/Getty

Long before White Zombie broke into the mainstream with Nineties alt-metal hits like “More Human Than Human,” the New York City band churned out unruly noise-rock on a series of obscure 1980s releases. Numero Group has revived that long out-of-print material for an expansive box set, It Came From N.Y.C., out June 3rd.

The 39-track package, remastered by White Zombie guitarist J. Yuenger, spans the band’s discography from 1985 seven-inch “Gods on Voodoo Moon” to 1989 EP God of Thunder, including six previously unissued tracks. 

It Came From N.Y.C. – available in both five-LP and three-CD editions – also features a 108-page hardcover book chronicling the band’s formative years with a 20,000-word essay, flyer gallery, shirtography (1985-1990) and 50 previously unpublished photographs. The LP editions are available on black, white and “Toxic Waste Green” vinyl, with the latter two colors exclusive to the Numero Group website

Watch a teaser video for the project below. 

White Zombie, led by the twisted vision of frontman Rob Zombie, found commercial success after signing with Geffen Records in the Nineties. They released two more LPs, 1992’s La Sexorcisto: Devil Music Volume One and 1995’s Astro-Creep: 2000, spawning several hits in the MTV era, before breaking up in 1998. 

It Came From N.Y.C. Track List

“Gods On Voodoo Moon” Seven-Inch (1985)

“Gentleman Junkie”  
“King Of Souls”            
“Tales From The Scare Crow Man” 
“Cat’s Eye Resurrection”                    
“Black Friday”*          
“Dead or Alive”*

“Pig Heaven” Seven-Inch (1986)

“Pig Heaven”      
“Slaughter The Grey”          
“Scarecrow #2″*
“Red River Flow”*                  
“Rain Insane”* 
“Paradise Fireball”* 

Psycho-Head Blowout EP (1987)

“Fast Jungle”                
“Gun Crazy”                             
“True Crime”

Soul-Crusher LP (1987)                       

“Shack Of Hate”                                   
“Drowning the Colossus”       
“Crow III”         
“Die Zombie Die”                     
“Truck On Fire”           
“Future Shock”
“Scum Kill”       
“Diamond Ass” 

Make Them Die Slowly LP (1989)                               

“Disaster Blaster”                    
“Acid Flesh”                  
“Power Hungry”          

God Of Thunder EP – 1989

“God Of Thunder”       
“Love Razor”    
“Disaster Blaster-2”

*Previously unissued

In This Article: Rob Zombie, White Zombie


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.