Watch Nine Inch Nails Perform 'Sanctified' Live From Austin City Limits - Premiere - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Watch Nine Inch Nails Perform ‘Sanctified’ Live From ACL – Premiere

Trent Reznor and Co. celebrate ‘Austin City Limits’ with upcoming hour-long set

Earlier this year, concert TV series Austin City Limits announced that a rare, hour-long Nine Inch Nails concert filmed last November would act as a prelude to the series’ 40th anniversary. Now, Rolling Stone exclusively premieres “Sanctified,” the moody, eerie track from the group’s 1989 debut album Pretty Hate Machine.

Find Out Where Nine Inch Nails’ ‘Hesitation Marks’ Landed on Our List of 2013’s Best Albums

For their ACL performance, Reznor augments the original version of “Sanctified” with backup vocals from tour vocalists Lisa Fischer and Sharlotte Gibson, giving the live performance a warmer, more soulful undercurrent than its dark source material.

In the 10-song set, Reznor and the seven-piece band, which includes guitarist Robin Finck and famed bassist Pino Palladino, draw mainly from last year’s Hesitation Marks and 1999’s double album The Fragile, though also include Year Zero’s “In This Twilight” and a closing performance of The Downward Spiral’s “Hurt.”

“We’ve waited a long time to do anything like this,” said Reznor in a statement. “We never thought we’d see the day when Nine Inch Nails would set foot on the ACL stage,” added executive producer Terry Lickona. “I mean, they never did television for 25 years! I came away from this show having the greatest respect for Trent Reznor. He’s one of the most focused, intense and creative artists I’ve ever worked with.”

The weekly showthe longest-running music series in U.S. television historywill feature both debut artists and repeat performances by past favorites, with full episodes available on the series’ website immediately following the initial broadcast.

On April 26th, Austin City Limits will launch the inaugural induction ceremony for its Hall of Fame, recognizing Willie Nelson and Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble as its first members alongside the show’s creator, Bill Arhos, and University of Texas football coach Darrell K. Royal. 

Nine Inch Nails: Austin City Limits premieres April 5th on PBS.

Nine Inch Nails’ ACL Setlist 

1. All Time Low
2. Sanctified
3. Came Back Haunted
4. Copy of A
5. The Frail
6. The Wretched
7. The Big Come Down
8. In This Twilight
9. While I’m Still Here
10. Hurt


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.