Watch Lana Del Rey Get 'High By the Beach' in New Video - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Watch Lana Del Rey Get ‘High By the Beach’ in New Video

Nostalgic singer takes aim at hovering helicopter in moody new clip

UPDATE: Lana Del Rey has revealed a track list for her upcoming album, Honeymoon. Check it out below.

Lana Del Rey has taken her campy sadness to new heights with the seaside music video for her new single “High By the Beach.”

In the clip, Del Rey spots a helicopter hovering above her lavish beach mansion. She then begins restlessly moping around her sparse home, throwing herself onto her bed and listlessly flipping through a magazine. The helicopter then flies closer to the home and stays near her window. In the helicopter is a man with a camera, shooting photos of the singer. 

After sadly posing for a few wind-blown photos, Del Rey then runs outside to the beach and pulls a large guitar case from beneath the rocks. She opens the case on her balcony to reveal a rusty machine gun and proceeds to shoot down the helicopter. 

The location of the mansion — adjacent to a highway — is reminiscent of the opening scene from the lyric video for the title track off her upcoming album, “Honeymoon.” In that scene, Del Rey lounges in the grass near a highway watching a pick-up truck pull away. 

Honeymoon follows up last summer’s Ultraviolence. While the title track seemed to follow in last year’s nostalgic, neo-noir themes, “High By the Beach” showcases more Valley of the Dolls, Sixties exploitation film vibes both sonically and visually. 

In an interview with Billboard in January, the singer revealed that the new album will be closer to Born to Die and Paradise. She also teased a cover of Nina Simone’s “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood.”

Honeymoon Track List:

1. “Honeymoon”
2. “Music to Watch Boys to”
3. “Terrence Loves You”
4. “God Knows I Tried”
5. “High by the Beach”
6. “Freak”
7. “Art Deco”
8. “Burnt Norton (Interlude)”
9. “Religion”
10. “Salvatore”
11. “The Blackest Day”
12. “24 Swan Song”
13. “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”

In This Article: Lana Del Rey


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.