Watch Iggy Pop's Thrilling 'Austin City Limits' Debut - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Watch Iggy Pop’s Thrilling ‘Austin City Limits’ Debut

Rock legend and Josh Homme showcase ‘Post Pop Depression,’ classic cuts in epic hour-long episode

Iggy Pop made his Austin City Limits debut, nearly 50 years into his career, Saturday night with an epic hour-long episode that focused on his 2016 album Post Pop Depression.

Backed by a powerhouse ensemble that featured Queens of the Stone Age guitarists Josh Homme, Troy Van Leeuwen and Dean Fertita, bassist Matt Sweeney and Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders, Pop’s 11-song ACL episode features the rocker tearing through six tracks from his new LP as well as favorites off his two David Bowie-produced albums, The Idiot and Lust for Life.

“There’s never been another show quite like this one, and that’s saying a lot,” ACL executive producer Terry Lickona said of the Pop episode in a statement. “Iggy is an ageless, timeless, human dynamo, and he took command of the stage, the cameras, the whole building. This show captures the essence of what makes Iggy Pop the godfather of punk rockers.”

The concert was taped on March 15th during the tour in support of Pop’s new record. Pop’s recent jaunt is also the focus of a new concert film/live album Post Pop Depression: Live at the Royal Albert Hall that the rocker released Friday.

In addition to the ACL episode and concert film, Pop was also on the big screen this weekend as Jim Jarmusch’s Iggy and the Stooges documentary Gimme Danger opened in New York ahead of its wider release.

Iggy Pop’s Austin City Limits Set List

“Lust for Life”
“American Valhalla”
“In the Lobby”
“Some Weird Sin”
“China Girl”
“Break Into Your Heart”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.