Watch Dan Auerbach's the Arcs Perform Tender New Psych-Soul Track - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Watch Dan Auerbach’s the Arcs Perform Tender New Psych-Soul Track

Live video captures “celebratory” mood surrounding debut of Black Keys frontman’s new venture

Dan Auerbach publicity imageDan Auerbach publicity image

"These guys have equal input on all the songs," says Dan Auerbach of his Arcs bandmates.

Alysse Grafkjen

Dan Auerbach‘s the Arcs will release their debut LP, Yours, Dreamily, on September 4th, and today the Black Keys singer exclusively shares a live take on his latest project’s “Stay in My Corner.” The slow-burning rocker, inspired by the recent Floyd Mayweather–Manny Pacquiao fight, was recorded in L.A. at the Village Recorder.

“This was at the tail end of a whirlwind week for us,” Auerbach told Rolling Stone of the “Stay in My Corner” performance. “We had just played our very first show ever in Boyle Heights. It was to celebrate our friend Omar Juarez on his art show and his completion of our very first music video. We were all very much still learning the songs at this point, but even still, this week had a very celebratory feeling to it overall… I’m reminded of all that good stuff when I see this performance.”

The Arcs feature Auerbach pals Leon Michels, Richard Swift, Homer Steinweiss and Nick Movshon, along with guests Kenny Vaughan and all-female mariachi group Mariachi Flor de Toloache.

“These guys have equal input on all the songs,” Auerbach previously told Rolling Stone of the Arcs’ collaborative nature. “It’s a completely different thing than the Black Keys, where I write the lyrics, the chords and most of the melodies. Every song on this record is co-written with the whole band. That’s why I didn’t call it my name. I love being able to sit back and let songs evolve without me. It’s been a new experience.”

“Stay in My Corner” and the similarly boxing-related “Tomato Can” were released as a seven-inch single in May. The studio version of the former track, along with “Outta My Mind,” was also offered up as an instant download for fans who preordered Yours, Dreamily. Auerbach also told Rolling Stone that the Arcs expect to embark on a two-month tour this fall.

Yours, Dreamily Track List

1. “Once We Begin (Intro)”
2. “Outta My Mind”
3. “Put a Flower in Your Pocket”
4. “Pistol Made of Bones”
5. “Everything You Do (You Do for You)”
6. “Stay in My Corner”
7. “Cold Companion”
8. “The Arc”
9. “Nature’s Child” 
10. “Velvet Ditch”
11. “Chains of Love”
12. “Come & Go”
13. “Rosie (Ooh La La)”
14. “Searching the Blue”

In This Article: Dan Auerbach, The Black Keys


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.