Viola Beach's Families to Drop Posthumous LP After Tragic Accident - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Viola Beach’s Families to Drop Posthumous LP After Tragic Accident

Families of British indie-rock band killed in car crash last February said their new music was “everything” to them

viola beach release Posthumous LP releaseviola beach release Posthumous LP release

The families of Viola Beach, the British indie rock band killed in a February car accident, have announced plans to release the group's debut and posthumous LP.

In February, the four members of British indie rock band Viola Beach and their manager were killed in a car accident outside Stockholm, Sweden. To remember the emerging group and their music, the families of singer Kris Leonard, guitarist River Reeves, bassist Tomas Lowe, drummer Jack Dakin and manager Craig Tarry banded together to release Viola Beach’s self-titled debut and posthumous LP, due out July 29th.

“We are tremendously proud of everything the boys achieved in such a short space of time. Craig, Jack, Kris, River and Tom shared a huge passion, talent and dedication to music,” the families said in a statement. “We believe the best way to celebrate our sons’ lives is to release an album of their songs.”

The LP features tracks like “Swings and Waterslides” and first single “Boys That Sing,” songs that were garnering airplay on BBC Radio 1 before the band’s tragic accident on February 13th. Viola Beach were driving from Sweden’s Where’s the Music? Festival en route to a gig in Guilford, England when their car smashed into a road barrier and plunged more than 80 feet from a highway bridge to a canal.

Viola Beach were scheduled to make their American debut in front of SXSW audiences in March. “This is their legacy and we know deep in our hearts that the boys would want the world to listen to the music they poured everything into. This was only the beginning for them and these nine songs were written with every intention to be shared, heard and, most of all, enjoyed,” the families added. “We hope that it brings you as much happiness listening to it as we know it did to them making it.”

Pre-order the album now through the band’s own Fuller Beans Records.

Viola Beach Track List
1. “Swings And Waterslides”
2. “Like A Fool”
3. “Go Outside”
4. “Cherry Vimto”
5. “Drunk”
6. “Really Wanna Call”
7. “Call You Up”
8. “Get To Dancing (BBC Session)”
9. “Boys That Sing”

In This Article: Viola Beach


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.