Van Halen Releasing First Live Album With David Lee Roth - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Van Halen Releasing First Live Album With David Lee Roth

The group is also prepping remastered editions of their 1978 debut album and ‘1984’

Van Halen, David Lee RothVan Halen, David Lee Roth

David Lee Roth in 2013. The group will release 'Tokyo Dome Live In Concert,' their first live album with David Lee Roth, in March.

Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images

It’s taken them four decades, but Van Halen are finally releasing a live album with David Lee Roth at the helm. Tokyo Dome Live In Concert, taped June 21st, 2013 at a show in Japan, will be released on March 31st. It will be available as two CDs, a four-LP set on 180-gram vinyl and via digital outlets. 

The 23-song set leans heavily on classic hits like “Unchained,” “Jump” and “Panama,” but there are select tracks from the group’s 2012 LP A Different Kind of Truth. There’s also a few lesser-known songs like “Romeo Delight,” “Mean Street” and “Ice Cream Man.” Despite their reputation as an amazing live act, their only previous live album is 1993’s Live: Right Here, Right Now from the Sammy Hagar era.

On the same day they release the new live set, Van Halen will come out with remastered editions of their 1978 self-titled debut LP and 1984, the last album recorded with the complete original lineup. The new versions were overseen by mastering engineer Chris Bellman. “In order to produce the original sound the band intended,” says a press release, “Bellman cut straight from the quarter-inch tapes for CD; for 180-gram vinyl; and for the digital version.” New editions of Diver Down, Women and Children First, Van Halen II and Fair Warning are slated to arrive this spring.

Van Halen have been inactive since a small series of dates in the spring and summer of 2013. Last month, David Lee Roth played a couple of Van Halen songs at a Los Angeles Foo Fighters concert, showing off his newly shaved head.

Tokyo Dome Live In Concert Track List:

1. “Unchained”
2. “Runnin’ With The Devil”
3. “She’s The Woman”
4. “I’m The One”
5. “Tattoo”
6. “Everybody Wants Some!!”
7. “Somebody Get Me A Doctor”
8. “Chinatown”
9. “Hear About It Later”
10. “(Oh) Pretty Woman”
11. “Me & You” (Drum Solo)
12. “You Really Got Me”
13. “Dance The Night Away”
14. “I’ll Wait”
15. “Cradle Will Rock”
16. “Hot For Teacher”
17. “Women In Love”
18. “Romeo Delight”
19. “Mean Street”
20. “Beautiful Girls”
21. “Ice Cream Man”
22. “Panama”
23. “Eruption”
24. “Ain’t Talkin’’Bout Love”
25. “Jump”

In This Article: David Lee Roth, Van Halen


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.