Update: Thom Yorke's Atoms for Peace Drop Seismic New Single, 'Default' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Update: Thom Yorke’s Atoms for Peace Drop Seismic New Single, ‘Default’

Debut album is due in 2013, singer says

Thom Yorke and Flea of Atoms for PeaceThom Yorke and Flea of Atoms for Peace

Thom Yorke and Flea of Atoms for Peace

Kevin Mazur/WireImage

Atoms for Peace – the electro-rock supergroup that includes Thom Yorke, Nigel Godrich and Flea – released a new single on iTunes yesterday called “Default.” It’s a complicated track: over a drum pattern that skips and skitters, the synths swell to near-seismic levels while retaining a calm that matches Yorke’s ever-haunting croon.

The group first got together a few years ago for a handful of live shows. “We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing,” Yorke says in a statement. “Immersed in the area between the two . . . electronic and live.”

You can pick up the track at iTunes or stream it over at We All Want Someone to Shout For. XL Recordings will officially release the single on September 10th. Atoms for Peace plan to release a full-length album sometime in 2013.


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.