Unreleased Prince Songs Set for Greatest Hits, 'Purple Rain' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Unreleased Prince Songs Prepped for Greatest Hits, ‘Purple Rain’ Reissue

“Moonbeam Levels,” never-released track from ‘1999’ sessions, is on icon’s first posthumous release

Prince‘s estate has revealed its first posthumous release since the music legend’s death in April: a 40-track greatest hits collection titled Prince 4Ever and a deluxe reissue of Purple Rain. Both albums will include unreleased music from Prince’s vaults.

Prince 4Ever, out November 22nd, pairs Prince’s biggest hits with lesser-known favorites like Prince‘s “Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad,” Lovesexy‘s “Glam Slam” and the 1981 non-LP single “Gotta Stop (Messin’ About).”

The compilation’s biggest draw is the first official release of “Moonbeam Levels,” an oft-bootlegged rocker that was recorded in 1982 during the 1999 sessions. Prince’s solo rendition of “Nothing Compares 2 U” is also included on Prince 4Ever, which also features unreleased Prince photos by Herb Ritts.

Also on the docket for early 2017 is the long-awaited deluxe edition of Prince’s Purple Rain; the reissue was initially announced in 2014 and tied to the 1984 film’s 30th anniversary. As Billboard notes, plans for the Purple Rain reissue “were agreed with Prince before he passed away.” 

While the contents of the deluxe edition have not been announced, the set promises to include “a second album of previously unreleased material.” Given the wealth of unreleased (but bootlegged) material from the Purple Rain sessions, that could mean live material from the album’s tour, never-released cuts from the era like “Electric Intercourse” and “All Day, All Night” and the unabridged renditions of Purple Rain tracks like “Computer Blue,” which originally clocked in at 14 minutes. 

Prince 4Ever and the Purple Rain reissue are likely the first of what promises to be a deluge of posthumous Prince material as the advisors to his estate wade through the singer’s stocked musical vaults.

Prince 4Ever Track List

1. “1999”
2. “Little Red Corvette”
3. “When Doves Cry”
4. “Let’s Go Crazy”
5. “Raspberry Beret”
6. “I Wanna Be Your Lover”
7. “Soft and Wet”
8. “Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad”
9. “Uptown”
10. “When You Were Mine”
11. “Head”
12. “Gotta Stop (Messin’ About)”
13. “Controversy”
14. “Let’s Work”
15. “Delirious”
16. “I Would Die 4 U”
17. “Take Me With U”
18. “Paisley Park”
19. “Pop Life”
20. “Purple Rain”
21. “Kiss”
22. “Sign ‘O’ The Times”
23. “Alphabet Street”
24. “Batdance”
25. “Thieves In The Temple”
26. “Cream”
27. “Mountains”
28. “Girls & Boys”
29. “If I Was Your Girlfriend”
30. “U Got The Look”
31. “I Could Never Take The Place of Your Man”
32. “Glam Slam”
33. “Moonbeam Levels”
34. “Diamonds and Pearls”
35. “Gett Off”
36. “Sexy MF”
37. “My Name Is Prince”
38. “7”
39. “Peach”
40. “Nothing Compares 2 U”

In This Article: Prince


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.