Two Faith No More Albums to Get Rarities-Packed Reissues - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Two Faith No More Albums to Get Rarities-Packed Reissues

‘The Real Thing’ and ‘Angel Dust’ will be reissued with hard-to-find B-sides in June

Faith No MoreFaith No More

Faith No More will reissue 1989's 'The Real Thing' and 1992's 'Angel Dust' with extra discs of B-sides and live versions.

Ebet Roberts/Redferns/Getty

Faith No More‘s two best-selling records – 1989’s The Real Thing and 1992’s Angel Dust – are being reissued with rarities-packed bonus discs. The reissues, which will be available as either double-CD or heavyweight double-vinyl sets, will hit store shelves on June 9th, one month after the band puts out its comeback album, Sol Invictus.

Although neither reissue contains music that was previously unreleased, they both collect many of the band’s hard-to-find B-sides and other rarities. The track listing for each is below.

The Real Thing’s bonus disc contains remixes of three of their biggest hits – “Epic,” “Falling to Pieces” and “From Out of Nowhere” – hard-to-find tracks “The Grade,” “Cowboy Song” and “Sweet Emotion,” as well as live recordings that previously appeared as B-sides, including their cover of Black Sabbath’s “War Pigs.”

Angel Dust similarly contains several live B-sides, remixes of “Midlife Crisis” and “A Small Victory” and covers of the Commodores’ “Easy” and the Dead Kennedys’ “Let’s Lynch the Landlord.” It also features the album outtake “The World Is Yours,” a version of the group’s early track “As the Worm Turns” featuring Mike Patton on vocals and the German-language Schlager music track “Das Schützenfest.”

A vinyl release for both albums is planned for August, though an exact release date has yet to be announced.

The group is on its first North American tour since 2010, which runs through mid-May before picking back up again in July. Sol Invictus, the band’s first new album since 1997’s Album of the Year, will come out on May 19th. “I think what we’re doing [now] reflects where we’ve gone since we made our last record as Faith No More,” bassist and producer Bill Gould told Rolling Stone this past September. “I think this kicks things up a notch. And I think there’s parts that are very powerful and there’s parts that have a lot of ‘space.'” He added with a laugh, “Hopefully it doesn’t sound like a bunch of 50-year-old men – which we are.”

The Real Thing Bonus Disc Track List:

1. “Sweet Emotion”
2. “Epic (Radio Remix Edit)”
3. “Falling to Pieces (Matt Wallace Remix)”
4. “Cowboy Song”
5. “The Grade”
6. “From Out of Nowhere (Extended Remix)”
7. “War Pigs” (Live in Berlin)
8. “Surprise You’re Dead” (Live in Sheffield)
9. “Chinese Arithmetic” (Live in Sheffield)
10. “Underwater Love” (Live at Brixton Academy)
11. As the Worms Turns (Live at Brixton Academy)

Angel Dust Bonus Disc Track List:

1. “Easy (Cooler Version)”
2. “Das Schützenfest (German version)”
3. “As the Worm Turns” (Mike Patton vocal)
4. “Let’s Lynch the Landlord”
5. “Midlife Crisis (The Scream Mix)”
6. “A Small Victory (R-Evolution 23 [Full Moon] Mix)”
7. “Easy” (Live in Munich)
8. “Be Aggressive” (Live in Munich)
9. “Kindergarten” (Live in Munich)
10. “A Small Victory” (Live in Munich)
11. “Mark Bowen” (Live in Munich)
12. “We Care a Lot” (Live in Munich)
13. “Midlife Crisis” (Live in DeKalb)
14. “Land of Sunshine” (Live in DeKalb)
15. “Edge of the World” (Live in St. Louis)
16. “R.V.” (Live in DeKalb)
17. “The World Is Yours”

In This Article: Faith No More


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.