Tori Amos Preps Deluxe Reissues of First Two Studio Albums - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Tori Amos Preps Deluxe Reissues of First Two Studio Albums

Remastered versions of 1992’s ‘Little Earthquakes’ and 1994’s ‘Under the Pink’ will be released with B-sides and bonus tracks in April

Tori Amos

Tori Amos performs during her Unrepentant Geraldines Tour 2014 in Miami, Florida on August 24th, 2014.

Aaron Gilbert/Retna Ltd./Corbis

Tori Amos will release deluxe reissues of her first two studio albums, 1992’s Little Earthquakes and 1994’s Under the Pink, on April 14th via Rhino Records. The newly remastered LPs will be packaged in 2-CD sets, each paired with a disc of B-sides and bonus tracks. Both albums will also be released on 180-gram vinyl on that same date, marking their first U.S. vinyl pressing. 

Amos reflected back on the importance of her early work in a press release. “Little Earthquakes was an acknowledgement of things that I hadn’t looked at in 15 years, in some cases,” the singer-songwriter wrote. “After you acknowledge something, you tell everybody, and other people say, ‘I know what that’s like, too.’ There’s this energy charge you get, and liberation from doing that.”

When assembling the final track list for her debut album, Amos was forced to cut several songs to achieve an artistic balance and musical flow. Some of these B-sides, like “Ode to the Banana King (Part One),” were envisioned to connect with other Little Earthquakes tracks.

“Take to the Sky” – the B-side from Amos’ fourth single, “Winter” – is available to stream below. 

Amos released her 14th studio album, the visual art-inspired Unrepentant Geraldines, in 2014. “I’ve always been inspired by visual artists of all mediums because, as with music, art is not a job you can go to and leave from, but it is something that defines who and what you are,” she told Rolling Stone last year. “Visual artists shake up our brains and force us to look at everything, from objects we don’t normally think twice about to people we might not have cared about. In one image, they can remind us of nature’s power to enchant, as well as humankind’s fruitless attempt to overpower her or simply second-guess her.  Through the visual artist’s application of tone, shape, pattern and pigment, I not only begin to see, but I can honestly say I begin to hear.”

Little Earthquakes and Under the Pink Reissue Track lists:

Little Earthquakes (1992)
Disc 1: Original Album

1. “Crucify”
2. “Girl”
3. “Silent All These Years”
4. “Precious Things”
5. “Winter”
6. “Happy Phantom”
7. “China”
8. “Leather”
9. “Mother”
10. “Tear In Your Hand”
11. “Me And A Gun”
12. “Little Earthquakes”
Bonus Disc 2

1. “Upside Down” (from Silent All These Years single)
2. “Thoughts” (from Silent All These Years single)
3. “Ode to The Banana King (Part One)” (from Silent All These Years single)
4. “Song for Eric” (from Silent All These Years single)
5. “The Pool” (from Winter single)
6. “Take To The Sky” (from Winter single)
7. “Sweet Dreams” (from Winter single)
8. “Mary” (from Crucify single)
9. “Sugar” (from China single)
10. “Flying Dutchman” (from China single)
11. “Humpty Dumpty” (from China single)
12. “Smells Like Teen Spirit” (from Winter single)
13. “Little Earthquakes” (Live in Cambridge – Apr 5, 1992) (from Crucify single)
14. “Crucify” (Live in Cambridge – Apr 5, 1992) (from Crucify single)
15. “Precious Things” (Live in Cambridge – Apr 5, 1992) (from Crucify single)
16. “Mother” (Live in Cambridge – Apr 5, 1992) (from Crucify single)
17. “Happy Phantom” (Live) (from Silent All These Years single)
18. “Here In My Head” (from Crucify single)
Under The Pink (1994)
Disc 1: Original Album

1. “Pretty Good Year”
2. “God”
3. “Bells For Her”
4. “Past The Mission”
5. “Baker Baker”
6. “The Wrong Band”
7. “The Waitress”
8. “Cornflake Girl”
9. “Icicle”
10. “Cloud On My Tongue”
11. “Space Dog”
12. “Yes, Anastasia”
Bonus Disc 2

1. “Sister Janet” [from Cornflake Girl single]
2. “Honey” [from Cornflake Girl single]
3. “Daisy Dead Petals” [from Cornflake Girl single]
4. “Over It” [from Cornflake Girl single]
5. “Black Swan” [from Pretty Good Year single]
6. “Home On the Range” (with Cherokee Addition) [from Pretty Good Year single]              
7. “All The Girls Hate Her” [from Cornflake Girl single]
8. “God” (The CJ Bollard Remix) [from God 12”]
9. “Here in My Head” [live] [from Past the Mission single]
10. “Upside Down” [live] [from Past the Mission single]
11. “Past the Mission” [live] [from Past the Mission single]
12. “Icicle” [live] [from Past the Mission single]
13. “Flying Dutchman” [live] [from Past the Mission single]
14. “Winter” [live] [from Past the Mission single]
15. “The Waitress” [live] [from Past the Mission single]

In This Article: Tori Amos


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.