Third Man Records to Release Rare 1999 White Stripes Show - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Third Man Records to Release Rare 1999 White Stripes Show

‘Live at the Gold Dollar’ set will also include reproduced flyers designed by Jack White

White StripesWhite Stripes

American rock duo the White Stripes, February 2002. They are Jack White and his ex-wife Meg White. (Photo by Tim Roney/Getty Images)

Tim Roney/Getty

The White Stripes

The latest installment of Third Man Records’ “Vault Package” series will be a taste of the White Stripes‘ earliest shows, with the label set to release The White Stripes: Live at the Gold Dollar, Vol. III showcasing a 1999 live performance.

The Gold Dollar had been a significant location in the White Stripes’ history, having been the venue where Jack and Meg White played many of their earliest shows. Vault Package #13 contained recordings from their first two shows ever, which took place at Gold Dollar, while Package #26 contains a set from February 6th, 1999. The band had concluded tracking for their self-titled debut just weeks prior to the performance.

The White Stripes’ set that night included original songs and covers that would span the band’s first three albums, which includes their 2001 hit “Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground” off White Blood Cells. The blues and folk covers the band recorded for their self-titled debut also made appearances, such as Bob Dylan’s “One More Cup of Coffee” and Robert Johnson’s “Stop Breaking Down.”

Third Man has released a live version of “Let’s Build a Home” that would eventually appear on the group’s 2000 album De Stijl.

The full Vault Package includes a newly mixed recording of the live set on “blood red vinyl” alongside reproductions of flyers Jack White created for the event, a handwritten set list, glossy photos captures by Doug Coombe from a show at the Cass Corridor Club and a seven-inch from the Dead Weather single series. For this package, the Dead Weathers’ “Impossible Winner” and “Mile Markers” will be paired together for the release.

The package is available to subscribers who sign up before October 31st.

The White Stripes: Live at the Gold Dollar, Vol. III Track List:

1. “Broken Bricks”
2. “Jimmy the Exploder”
3. “The Big Three Killed My Baby”
4. “Stop Breaking Down” (Robert Johnson cover)
5. “Suzy Lee” 
6. “Let’s Build a Home”
7. “Sugar Never Tasted So Good” 
8. “Do”
9. “Little People”
10. “One More Cup of Coffee” (Bob Dylan cover)
11. “Astro” 
12. “Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground”
13. “Wasting My Time”
14. “Red Bowling Ball Ruth”
15. “Cannon/John the Revelator/Grinnin’ in Your Face” (Son House covers)
16. “Let’s Shake Hands”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.