The xx Preview New LP With Hall and Oates-Sampling New Song - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

The xx Preview New LP With Hall and Oates-Sampling ‘On Hold’

London trio preps new album ‘I See You’ for 2017

The xx unveiled a shimmering new song, “On Hold,” set to appear on their next album, I See You, out January 13th via Young Turks.

“On Hold” prominently samples Hall and Oates’ 1981 hit “I Can’t Go for That (No Can Do),” warping Darryl Hall’s voice into a giddy house hook that settles perfectly among Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim’s sultry vocals. Producer Jamie XX crafts a simple, but lush sonic landscape out of quick hi-hat ticks and crisp snares, dreamy guitar lines, swirling synths and the occasional euphoric dance floor clap.

“It’s always interesting to hear what somebody does with my songs,” Daryl Hall told Genius. “After a song is written, it belongs to the world and can be interpreted anyway they want. As long as I get paid, of course. Have fun and pay me.”

I See You will be the xx’s third album and first since 2012’s Coexist. The London trio recorded the LP between March 2014 and 2016 in New York, Marfa, Texas, Reykjavik, Los Angeles and London. Jamie XX produced the album with Rodaidh McDonald (Adele, Vampire Weekend). Prior to the release of “On Hold,” the xx shared a playlist featuring snippets of new material along with songs they’d been listening to in the studio.

I See You is available for pre-order digitally and on CD and vinyl. A box set featuring three bonus tracks is also for sale. The xx have a handful of international tour dates scheduled for both this year and spring 2017, though no U.S. dates have been announced.

The xx I See You Track List

1. “Dangerous”
2. “Say Something Loving”
3. “Lips”
4. “A Violent Noise”
5. “Performance”
6. “Replica”
7. “Brave For You”
8. “On Hold”
9. “I Dare You”
10. “Test Me”

In This Article: The xx


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.