The Shins Announce New Album 'Heartworms' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

The Shins Announce New Album ‘Heartworms’

Watch lyric video for single “Name For You”

The Shins have announced the follow-up to 2012’s Port of Morrow. Their fifth studio album, Heartworms, will be released on March 10th via Aural Apothecary/Columbia Records.

It’s their first album in almost five years. Singer and sole songwriter James Mercer also takes the reins behind the boards, with the exception of “So Now What” that was produced by Richard Swift. The album marks the group’s first self-produced LP since 2001’s Oh, Inverted World.

Along with the album announcement, the Shins unveiled their first single, “Name For You,” along with its lyric video. It’s a female empowerment song inspired by Mercer’s three daughters.

“In a world dearly won/ Well it’s yours love/ You can move it around,” Mercer sings on the uplifting track. “Given all the drops in the ocean/ Better take it one sip at a time/ Somebody with an antique notion/ Comes along to tighten the line/ They’re just afraid of you speaking your mind.”

In October, the Shins released a surprise Halloween-styled video for “Dead Alive,” a song that is also on their forthcoming album.

The band also recently announced it will be appearing in A Prairie Home Companion, which takes place on Saturday. Regina Spektor will also appear in the episode.

Heartworms Track List

1. “Name For You”
2. “Painting a Hole”
3. “Cherry Hearts”
4. “Fantasy Island”
5. “Mildenhall”
6. “Rubber Ballz”
7. “Half a Million”
8. “Dead Alive”
9. “Heartworms”
10. “So Now What”
11. “The Fear”

In This Article: The Shins


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.