The Pop Group Reveal New Album 'Citizen Zombie' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

The Pop Group Detail First New Album in 35 Years

Experimental rockers join forces with pop producer Paul Epworth for ‘Citizen Zombie’

The Pop GroupThe Pop Group

The Pop Group's Gareth Sager, Dan Catsis, Bruce Smith and Mark Stewart. The band will release 'Citizen Zombie,' their first new album in nearly 35 years, next year.

Chiara Meattelli and Dominic Lee

Innovative experimental rockers the Pop Group will release their first album in 35 years on February 25th when they unveil Citizen Zombie.

While the Pop Group’s four principal members – lyricist/singer Mark Stewart, guitarist Gareth Sager, bassist Dan Catsis and drummer Bruce Smith – reunited in 2010 after splitting up in 1981, Citizen Zombie will be the band’s first album since they released For How Much Longer Do We Tolerate Mass Murder? back in 1980. The group has also unveiled the album’s title track, available below. 

Although known for their dissonant cocktail of post-punk, dub and free jazz, the Pop Group have joined forces with an actual pop producer for Citizen Zombie: Paul Epworth, the Grammy-winning producer that recently worked on Coldplay’s Ghost Stories, Paul McCartney’s New and Adele’s smash 21. While a collaboration between the Pop Group and Epworth seems odd on paper, the producer is actually a longtime fan of the band.

“From his work with Phones [Epworth’s early solo project] onwards, I’ve loved his work and think he’s one of the world’s best producers,” Edwards said in a statement. “He gave us the freedom to create and, with his help, destiny rides again for The Pop Group.”

“The energy is still there, the ideas are still there, it still fizzes with a life that most young bands just don’t have,” Epworth said of working with the band, whose landmark 1979 LP Y continues to influence artists today.

Citizen Zombie will be released via Freaks R Us, the same label that reissued a pair of Pop Group compilations, We Are Time and Cabinet of Curiosities, earlier this year. In addition to their new album, the Pop Group will embark on their first ever U.S. tour in March.

Citizen Zombie Track List

1. “Citizen Zombie”
2. “Mad Truth”
3. “Nowhere Girl”
4. “Shadow Child”
5. “The Immaculate Deception”
6. “s.o.p.h.i.a.”
7. “Box 9”
8. “Nations”
9. “St. Outrageous”
10. “Age Of Miracles”
11. “Echelon”

In This Article: Paul Epworth


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.