The Gaslamp Killer Announces 'Instrumentalepathy' Album - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

The Gaslamp Killer Announces ‘Instrumentalepathy’ Album

L.A.-based producer plots first studio effort in four years

The Gaslamp Killer Announces 'Instrumentalepathy' Album

Los Angeles hip-hop producer the Gaslamp Killer will release a new full-length, 'Instrumentalepathy,' next month.

Los Angeles experimental hip-hop producer the Gaslamp Killer will release a new LP, Instrumentalepathy, next month through his own imprint, Cuss Records. It’s the first studio album from the producer since 2012’s Breakthrough.

In 2013, the Gaslamp Killer suffered a life-threatening accident while riding his scooter. Despite the serious nature of his injuries, he did not stop working for long. According to a statement from the artist, some songs on Instrumentalepathy were made in the aftermath of his accident, even though the producer was still “unable to walk, with morphine running through his veins and staples in his body.” He also organized a concert in L.A. that year which served as the basis for The Gaslamp Killer Experience: Live In Los Angeles

Breakthrough was a collaborative affair, and Instrumentalepathy, due out September 16this no different: The Gaslamp Killer enlisted Gonjasufi, Miguel Atwood Ferguson and more to join him on the album. Flying Lotus, whose Brainfeeder Records released Breakthrough, helped out by creating a brief video teaser for the new record.

Along with the album release announcement, the Gaslamp Killer unveiled the record’s first single. “Residual Tingles” mixes the sounds of late ’60s hard funk — a heavy breakbeat, fuzzy guitar, jumpy hand percussion — with a smooth orchestral arrangement.

Instrumentalepathy Tracklist

1. “Pathetic Dreams” (with Kid Moxie and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
2. “Good Morning” (with Gonjasufi)
3. “Warm Wind (Frimpong)” [with Amir Yaghmai]
4. “Residual Tingles”
5. “The Butcher” (with Mophono)
6. “Friendship (Interlude)”
7. “Gammalaser Kill” (with MRR and Malcolm Catto)
8. “Life Guard Tower #22” (with Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
9. “Haleva” (with Amir Yaghmai)
10. “Listen For My Whistle”
11. “Shred You To Bits”
12. In The Dark (Part Two)” [with The Heliocentrics] [Bonus]

In This Article: The Gaslamp Killer


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.