Home Music Music News

The Flaming Lips’ “Dark Side of the Moon” Out Digitally December 22

The Flaming Lips will release their version of Pink Floyd’s The Dark Side of the Moon (one of Rolling Stone‘s 500 Greatest Albums) digitally starting December 22nd. The Lips’ Dark Side — full title The Flaming Lips and Stardeath and White Dwarfs With Henry Rollins and Peaches Doing The Dark Side of the Moon — will be an iTunes exclusive for one week until December 29th, at which point it’ll head over to the other digital retailers. As you probably guessed from the rerecording’s epically long title, both Henry Rollins and Peaches contribute “vocal assistance,” or those talking-head bits that served as segues between songs on the original TDSOTM.

As Rolling Stone previously reported, the Flaming Lips and Stardeath and White Dwarfs will team up to perform Dark Side in its entirety at the band’s New Year’s Eve Freakout! in Oklahoma City. It is currently the Lips’ only planned live performance of Dark Side, and Rolling Stone will be on the ground for a full report. Frontman Wayne Coyne has promised, “Oh, it’s going to be a good time.”

In case you don’t already know the Dark Side track listing by heart, check out it below, with the guest spots:

The Flaming Lips and Stardeath and White Dwarfs with Henry Rollins and Peaches Doing the Dark Side of the Moon:
1. “Speak To Me” / “Breathe” (featuring Henry Rollins and Peaches)
2. “On The Run” (featuring Henry Rollins)
3. “Time” / “Breathe Reprise”
4. “The Great Gig In The Sky” (featuring Peaches and Henry Rollins)
5. “Money” (featuring Henry Rollins)
6. “Us And Them” (featuring Henry Rollins)
7. “Any Colour You Like”
8. “Brain Damage” (featuring Henry Rollins)
9. “Eclipse” (featuring Henry Rollins).

Related Stories:

Flaming Lips to Perform Pink Floyd’s “Dark Side of the Moon” at New Year’s Eve Concert
Flaming Lips and Lenny Kravitz Wrap Voodoo Fest
Flaming Lips Road Test Dark New Tunes From “Embryonic” in L.A.


Powered by