The Avalanches Unveil New Album 'Wildflower,' Debut Single - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

The Avalanches Unveil New Album ‘Wildflower,’ Debut Single

Hear the Australian group’s Zane Lowe interview and new single “Frankie Sinatra” featuring MF Doom and Danny Brown

Electronic group the Avalanches have announced their surprise new album and also premiered a new song. The follow-up to their 2000 debut LP, Since I Left You, sophomore album Wildflower will be released on July 8th via Astralwerks and features collaborations with Father John Misty, Danny Brown and others.

“Sorry we kept you waiting,” the group wrote on Twitter. “It’s been a wild ride and at times we thought we’d never make it through. What kept us going was the belief in the day-to-day experience of music as a life force  – as life energy. How music can change the tone of your day. How the sunlight refracts differently through the atmosphere can make the world look different, changing colors and feelings. What a beautiful thing sound waves can be. It’s magic.” 

The group premiered new single, “Frankie Sinatra” on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 Radio program during his interview with Avalanches’ Tony Di Blasi and Robbie Chater, where they discussed collaborating with Danny Brown (whom they described as having “an almost punk rock voice sometimes”) and others. The pair said that the album began to take shape “three or four years ago.”

As for the time between records, they’ve worked on several projects, including music with Luke Steele from the Sleepy Jackson, music for the King Kong soundtrack and an animated project. “We just kept making music, which we’d always done and probably will always do, but there was so much of it on so many different projects. At a certain point we realized we kinda need to pull an Avalanches record together out of all this stuff we’ve been making,” they told Lowe.

Sporadic details and rumors about their sophomore record have circulated over the years, but more recent events seemed to solidify that a new LP was forthcoming. In April, the reclusive group announced a handful of 2016 summer festival dates, which ramped up the new album speculation. The Australian act will perform for their first traditional live date since 2007 when they take the stage at Primavera Sound in Barcelona, Spain, next week.

More evidence that new music was on its way came in the form of a mysterious video that the Avalanches posted last week. The humorous teaser clip entitled “Since They Left Us,” a play on their debut release, featured Father John Misty, Danny Brown, Ariel Pink, Royal Trux’s Jennifer Herrema and Kirin J. Callinan.

Wildflower Track List

1. “The Leaves Were Falling” 
2. “Because I’m Me” 
3. “Frankie Sinatra”
4. “Subways”
5. “Going Home” 
6. “If I Was A Folkstar” 
7. “Colours” 
8. “Zap!”
9. “Noisy Eater” 
10. “Wildflower” 
11. “Harmony”
12. “Live A Lifetime Love” 
13. “Park Music”
14. “Livin’ Underwater (Is Somethin’ Wild)”
15. “The Wozard Of Iz” 
16. “Over The Turnstiles”
17. “Sunshine”
18. “Light Up”
19. “Kaleidoscopic Lovers”
20. “Stepkids”
21. “Saturday Night Inside Out”

Hear Zane Lowe’s Full Interview With the Avalanches

In This Article: The Avalanches


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.