Sublime to Mark 25th Anniversary With Reissue, Documentary - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Sublime to Mark 25th Anniversary With Reissue, Authorized Documentary

Band also readies “40oz. to Freedom” Mexican-style lager to celebrate 1992 LP

Sublime will mark the 25th anniversary of their debut LP with a yearlong celebration that includes reissues, a pair of films and the band’s own beer.

The group, which released 40oz. to Freedom in 1992, will reissue the late Bradley Nowell and company’s 1995 Badfish EP, which will arrive on vinyl for the first time to celebrate Record Store Day on April 22nd; for last year’s Record Store Day, the band reissued their 1991 cassette Jah Won’t Pay the Bills on vinyl.

Additionally, Sublime are planning a pair of films based on the band’s legacy: The first ever authorized documentary to tell the “real” story of the group, with Bud Gaugh, Eric Wilson and the Nowell estate all cooperating with the production, is currently in development. Sublime is also in advanced negotiations of a biopic about the band.

Finally, the group has teamed with AleSmith Brewing Company to create a Mexican-style lager dubbed “40oz. to Freedom.” A limited edition batch of the beer will be bottled in 40-ounce containers and sold through the San Diego brewery and to-be-determined locations before it’s distributed nationally in six-packs of 12-ounce cans.

“It doesn’t taste like anything else,” Gaugh said in a statement. “The flavor is great and it has a craft beer flare with a true Mexican lager taste. This is the one!” Nowell’s widow Troy Holmes added, “Being a beer lover, I’m so proud to partner with an elite world-class brewery like AleSmith and I know Sublime fans will absolutely love it! Like Bradley sang, ‘That second beer was such a turn-on.‘”

In summer 2016, Sublime released the massive Van Box Set, a limited edition 13-LP vinyl collection boasting the group’s three studio albums with Nowell, the Second-Hand Smoke compilation, a pair of live albums and Jah Won’t Pay the Bills. The box set also came with two exclusive art lithographs, turntable slipmat and Sublime joint air-freshener. Each vinyl reissue is available as a standalone release.

Badfish EP Track List

Side A
1. “Badfish” – 40 Oz album version
2. “Don’t Push (Original)” – 40 Oz album version
3. “Untitled Dub (Live) – live at Kommotion 9/3/94 “

Side B
4. “We’re Only Gonna Die For Our Arrogance (Live) – live at Kommotion 9/3/94”
5. “Roots Of Creation”

In This Article: Sublime


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.