Springsteen's “Working on a Dream” Confirmed: New Album Due January 27th - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Springsteen’s “Working on a Dream” Confirmed: New Album Due January 27th

The rumors were true: Columbia Records has confirmed that Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band’s Working on a Dream will be released on January 27, 2009. The 12-track LP — Bruce’s 24th — was produced and mixed by Brendan O’Brien, who last helmed the band’s 2007 Magic.

“Towards the end of recording Magic, excited by the return to pop production sounds, I continued writing,” Springsteen says in a statement. “When my friend producer Brendan O’Brien heard the new songs, he said, ‘Let’s keep going.’ Over the course of the next year, that’s just what we did, recording with the E Street Band during the breaks on last year’s tour. I hope Working on a Dream has caught the energy of the band fresh off the road from some of the most exciting shows we’ve ever done. All the songs were written quickly, we usually used one of our first few takes, and we all had a blast making this one from beginning to end.”

The album features two bonus tracks: “The Wrestler” and “A Night with the Jersey Devil.” As promised, the NFL premiered a bit of the title track during last night’s Cowboys-Redskins half-time (see above). Keep reading for the full track list:

1. “Outlaw Pete”
2. “My Lucky Day”
3. “Working on a Dream”
4. “Queen of the Supermarket”
5. “What Love Can Do”
6. “This Life”
7. “Good Eye”
8. “Tomorrow Never Knows”
9. “Life Itself”
10. “Kingdom of Days”
11. “Surprise, Surprise”
12. “The Last Carnival”

In This Article: Bruce Springsteen


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.