Smashing Pumpkins Announce New Double Album 'Cyr' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Smashing Pumpkins Announce New Double Album ‘Cyr’

LP features 20 tracks, including the title track “Cyr” and “The Colour of Love”

Smashing PumpkinsSmashing Pumpkins

Smashing Pumpkins have released new singles "Anno Satana" and "Birch Grove" from their upcoming double album, 'Cyr.'

Jonathan Weiner*

After recently unveiling a pair of new songs, the Smashing Pumpkins have announced their new double album Cyr, due out November 27th.

The LP features 20 tracks, including the title track “Cyr” and “The Colour of Love,” and was recorded in the band’s native Chicago with Billy Corgan serving as producer. Cyr is available to preorder digitally now.

“Cyr is dystopic folly,” Corgan previously said in a statement, “one soul against the world sort of stuff, set against a backdrop of shifting loyalties and sped-up time. To me it stands as both hopeful and dismissive of what is and isn’t possible with faith.”

In addition to the album announcement, Corgan also shared the trailer for a new five-part animated series we wrote called In Ashes; the first two episodes will premiere on September 25th, and with it new music from Cyr:

Cyr marks Smashing Pumpkins’ second LP since their semi-reunion with guitarist James Iha and drummer Jimmy Chamberlain, following 2018’s Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun. The album is also the band’s first with Sumerian Records, which recently signed them.



Cyr Tracklist

1. The Colour of Love
2. Confessions of a Dopamine Addict
3. Cyr
4. Dulcet in E
5. Wrath
6. Ramona
7. Anno Satana
8. Birch Grove
9. Wyttch
10. Starrcraft
11. Purple Blood
12. Save Your Tears
13. Telegenix
14. Black Forest, Black Hills
15. Adrennalynne
16. Haunted
17. The Hidden Sun
18. Schaudenfreud
19. Tyger, Tyger
20. Minerva


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.