Slowdive, Mogwai, Editors Members Form New Group Minor Victories - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Slowdive, Mogwai, Editors Members Form New Group Minor Victories

Sun Kil Moon’s Mark Kozelek and Twilight Sad’s James Graham guest on band’s self-titled debut LP

Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell, Mogwai‘s Stuart Braithwaite and Editors’ Justin and James Lockey have come together to form a new project called Minor Victories, with the group’s self-titled debut due out June 3rd. The indie rock supergroup trumpeted their arrival with the super-slow-motion video for “A Hundred Ropes,” a track that weaves together the atmospheric, shoegazing sound of the band members’ other outfits.

Minor Victories also features guests Mark Kozelek of Sun Kil Moon and the Twilight Sad’s James Graham. The band recorded the album together even though they spent almost no time together in the studio: The collaboration was formed entirely online, with the members sending each other song fragments, ideas and finished recordings. Justin Lockey served as the album’s producer.

“Starting a band where some of the people have never met each other is something I’ve never heard of,” Braithwaite said in a statement, while Goswell called the project “the most exciting thing I’ve done to date.” Minor Victories is available to preorder now through Fat Possum; fans who purchase early will get an instant download of “A Hundred Ropes.”


Minor Victories Track List
1. “Give Up The Ghost”
2. “A Hundred Ropes”
3. “Breaking My Light”
4. “Scattered Ashes (Song for Richard)” (featuring James Graham)
5. “Folk Arp”
6. “Cogs”
7. “For You Always” (featuring Mark Kozelek)
8. “Out To Sea”
9. “The Thief”
10. “Higher Hopes”

In This Article: Editors, Mogwai


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.