Home Music Music News

Skrillex, Diplo Release Surprise Jack Ü Album During 24-Hour DJ Set

Justin Bieber, 2 Chainz, Missy Elliott and AlunaGeorge all guest on EDM duo’s debut

Skrillex and diplo

Skrillex and Diplo surprise released their Jack Ü album during the duo's marathon 24-hour DJ set.

CV_imageSPACE/Splash News/Corbis

UPDATE: According to Diplo, the duo’s 24-hour set was broken up by cops 18 hours into the set.

Skrillex and Diplo embarked on a 24-hour marathon DJ set yesterday, and midway through the daylong performance, the EDM duo premiered a much-anticipated surprise for fans: The debut album from their Jack Ü project. Dubbed Skrillex and Diplo Present Jack Ü, the umlaut-happy, features-heavy album sports appearances by Justin Bieber, 2 Chainz, Missy Elliott and AlunaGeorge, among others. The LP is available now on iTunes and Spotify.

Skrillex and Diplo had been hinting at a mixtape since last July, but instead – like Drake – they’ve gone the album route. In addition to the duo’s debut single “Take Ü There” featuring Kiesza and its recent Missy Elliott remix, Skrillex and Diplo Present Jack Ü features three tracks – “Jungle Bae,” “Beats Knockin” and “Febreze” with 2 Chainz – that the duo previously previewed during their visit to BBC Radio 1Xtra this past November. The 10-track collection is rounded out by the AlunaGeorge collaboration “To Ü,” opener “Don’t Do Drugs Just Take Some Jack Ü” and the album’s biggest surprise guest, Justin Bieber, who makes his first album appearance in over a year on “Where Are Ü Now.”

Skrillex and Diplo Present Jack Ü Track List

1. “Don’t Do Drugs Just Take Some Jack Ü”
2. “Beats Knockin (feat. Fly Boi Keno)”
3. “Take Ü There (feat. Kiesza)”
4. “Febreze (feat. 2 Chainz)”
5. “To Ü (feat. AlunaGeorge)”
6. “Jungle Bae (feat. Bunji Garlin)”
7. “Mind (feat. Kai)”
8. “Holla Out (feat. Snails & Tarantula)”
9. “Where Are Ü Now (feat. Justin Bieber)”
10. “Take Ü There (feat. Kiesza) [Missy Elliott Remix] [Bonus Track]”


Powered by