See Metallica Explain Why They're 2016's Record Store Day Ambassadors - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

See Metallica Explain Why They’re 2016’s Record Store Day Ambassadors

Band will also release exclusive CD of their gig at Paris’ Bataclan in 2003 with proceeds benefiting charity

Metallica have released an eight-minute video explaining the importance of vinyl to them and why they are this year’s Record Store Day Ambassadors. All four members take turns explaining their history with the music-retail event, beginning with an in-store signing they held at Mountain View, California’s Rasputin Records in 2008, and how they “thrilled to make it official,” to use Lars Ulrich’s words, and campaign for people’s interest in buying vinyl. The group will also issue a new live CD, recorded at Paris’ Bataclan venue in 2003, on Record Store Day, which will take place on April 16th.

Metallica has been lifelong supporters of record stores and indie retail, because – well because we grew up with it and no one would play our stuff, so that’s where we would meet friends, meet fans, hang out at the record stores and get to find out what cool new music is out there,” James Hetfield says.

Kirk Hammett recalls how he would ride public transit for an hour as a teenager to go record shopping, while Robert Trujillo looked back on his first record-store trip as a 9-year-old and how he couldn’t make up his mind about what his first LP would be. Meanwhile, Ulrich recounted how he used to shop for rock records in Copenhagen while his dad looked for jazz LPs.

“Independent record stores are part of Metallica’s DNA,” Ulrich said in a separate statement. “They have been pivotal in shaping each one of us into the music fanatics we’ve all become. We could not be any prouder to be Record Store Day Ambassadors for 2016 and are looking forward to screaming from every rooftop the next few months about everything independent record store and beyond.”

They also discuss the upcoming deluxe reissues of their first two albums, Kill ‘Em All and Ride the Lightning, which feature previously unreleased demos, full live concerts and more. Those will come out on April 15th.

Metallica are also issuing a new live album, Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité, Metallica! – Live at Le Bataclan. Paris, France – June 11th, 2003, on Record Store Day. The group will be donating proceeds to benefit Fondation de France’s Give For France charity.

Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité, Metallica! – Live at Le Bataclan. Paris, France – June 11th, 2003 Track List:

1. “The Four Horsemen”
2. “Leper Messiah”
3. “No Remorse”
4. “Fade to Black”
5. “Frantic”
6. “Ride the Lightning”
7. “Blackened”
8. “Seek and Destroy”
9. “Damage, Inc.”

In This Article: Metallica, Record Store Day


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.