Sam Smith Preps 'In the Lonely Hour' Deluxe Reissue - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Sam Smith Preps ‘In the Lonely Hour’ Deluxe Reissue

‘Drowning Shadows’ edition of breakout 2014 LP features new song, acoustic versions and covers

Sam SmithSam Smith

Sam Smith has prepped a deluxe reissue of breakout LP 'In the Lonely Hour,' featuring a new song, acoustic versions and covers

Dave J Hogan/Getty

Sam Smith became 2014’s pop breakout with his soulful debut LP, In the Lonely Hour. Now the “Stay With Me” singer has announced a deluxe reissue of the album, The Drowning Shadows Edition, out November 6th via Capitol Records, DIY reports. (A representative for Smith confirmed the reissue to Rolling Stone.) The package is titled after a new song, “Drowning Shadows,” written by Smith and Fraser T. Smith. 

The album features several cover tracks, including Whitney Houston’s “How Will I Know?” and Amy Winehouse’s “Love Is a Losing Game.” Guest vocalists appear on three previously released, reworked tracks: Mary J. Blige on “Stay With Me,” A$AP Rocky on “I’m Not the Only One,” and John Legend on “Lay Me Down.” 

Rounding out the tracklist are acoustic versions of “Latch” and “Omen,” two collaborations with electronic duo Disclosure, along with a live version of “Latch” recorded at New York City’s Madison Square Garden. 

Last month, Smith and Disclosure visited the BBC Radio 1 Live Lounge and unleashed a simmering cover of Drake’s booty call jam “Hotline Bling.” The electronic duo – brothers Guy and Howard Lawrence – contributed “additional production” to Smith’s “Writing’s on the Wall,” his theme for the upcoming James Bond film Spectre. The ballad finds Smith exploring his falsetto over elegant orchestrations, singing lines like, “If I risk it all/Could you break my heart?/How do I live?/How do I breathe?/When you’re not here, I’m suffocating.”

“I tried to put myself in the shoes of Bond,” Smith told NPR of the song, which he wrote with “Stay With Me” collaborator Jimmy Napes in less than 30 minutes. “My music is a diary and it’s a recap of my life, and I wanted to bring that kind of honesty. In the lyrics … I wanted a touch of vulnerability from Bond, where you see into his heart a little bit.”

In The Lonely Hour: The Drowning Shadows Edition Track List

Disc One 

1. “Money On My Mind”
2. “Good Thing”
3. “Stay With Me”
4. “Leave Your Lover”
5. “I’m Not The Only One”
6. “I’ve Told You Now”
7. “Like I Can”
8. “Life Support”
9. “Not In That Way”
10. “Lay Me Down”
11. “Restart”
12. “Latch” (acoustic)
13. “La La La”
14. “Make It To Me”

Disc Two

1. “Drowning Shadows”
2. “Love Is A Losing Game”
3. “Nirvana”
4. “How Will I Know?”
5. “Omen” (acoustic) (feat. Disclosure)
6. “Latch” (feat. Disclosure) (live from Madison Square Garden, New York)
7. “Stay With Me” (feat. Mary J Blige)
8. “I’m Not The Only One” (feat. A$AP Rocky)
9. “Lay Me Down” (feat. John Legend)

In This Article: Sam Smith


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.