Sam Smith, Iggy Azalea, Taylor Swift Lead iHeartRadio Nominations - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Sam Smith, Iggy Azalea, Taylor Swift Lead iHeartRadio Nominations

British crooner and Australian pop-rapper earn five nods each, including Artist of the Year and Best New Artist

Sam SmithSam Smith

Sam Smith is up for five iHeartRadio Music Awards next month.

Chelsea Lauren/WireImage

Two of 2014’s biggest breakout stars, Sam Smith and Iggy Azalea, topped the nominees’ list for this year’s iHeartRadio Music Awards. Smith and Azalea earned five nods each, while Taylor Swift and Ariana Grande followed close behind with four each. All four artists will compete for Artist of the Year, with country star Luke Bryan rounding out the category. The awards show will take place at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on Sunday, March 29th, airing live on NBC from 8 to 11 p.m. ET/PT.

Smith and Azalea are also both up for Best New Artist — along with Bastille, Cole Swindle and Meghan Trainor — while Azalea will compete against herself in the Best Collaboration category, earning nominations for her Charli XCX-featuring hit “Fancy” and her appearance on Grande’s smash, “Problem.” Grande’s track with Jessie J and Nicki Minaj, “Bang Bang,” is also up for Best Collaboration, as is Katy Perry and Juicy J’s “Dark Horse,” and Jason Derulo and 2 Chainz’s “Talk Dirty.”

Smith’s breakout hit “Stay With Me” earned a nomination for Song of the Year, a category that also boasts Trainor’s “All About That Bass,” John Legend’s “All of Me,” Pharrell’s “Happy” and Swift’s “Shake it Off.” “Stay With Me” also scored a Best Lyrics nomination, and the British crooner’s vocal work on Naughty Boy’s “La La La” helped the track earn a nod for Dance Song of the Year.

The show will be simultaneously broadcast on iHeartMedia radio stations and iHeartRadio’s digital platform. Performers, including some special duets, will be announced in the coming weeks, while fan voting for three categories — Best Fan Army, Best Lyrics and the inaugural Renegade Award — begins March 3rd and ends on the 20th. The Renegade Award “recognizes an emerging standout artist that defies convention and who takes risks while still staying true to themselves,” organizers noted in a statement. A full list of nominees is below.

Artist of the Year
Ariana Grande
Iggy Azalea
Luke Bryan
Sam Smith
Taylor Swift

Song of the Year
Meghan Trainor — “All About That Bass”
John Legend — “All of Me”
Pharrell Williams — “Happy”
Taylor Swift — “Shake It Off”
Sam Smith — “Stay With Me”

Best Collaboration
Jessie J, Ariana Grande, Nicki Minaj — “Bang Bang”
Katy Perry featuring Juicy J — “Dark Horse”
Iggy Azalea featuring Charli XCX — “Fancy”
Ariana Grande featuring Iggy Azalea — “Problem”
Jason Derulo featuring 2 Chainz — “Talk Dirty”

Best New Artist
Cole Swindell
Iggy Azalea
Meghan Trainor
Sam Smith

Country Song of the Year
Lady Antebellum — “Bartender”
Jason Aldean — “Burnin’ It Down”
Florida Georgia Line — “Dirt”
Eric Church — “Give Me Back My Hometown”
Luke Bryan — “Play It Again”

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year
Jeremih featuring YG — “Don’t Tell ‘Em”
Beyoncé featuring Jay Z — “Drunk in Love”
Beyoncé — “Flawless”
Chris Brown featuring Lil Wayne and Tyga — “Loyal”
Chris Brown featuring Usher and Rick Ross — “New Flame”

Dance Song of the Year
Martin Garrix — “Animals”
Calvin Harris featuring John Newman — “Blame”
Naughty Boy featuring Sam Smith — “La La La”
Calvin Harris — “Summer”
Mr. Probz — “Waves”

Alternative Rock Song of the Year
KONGOS — “Come With Me Now”
Arctic Monkeys — “Do I Wanna Know?”
The Black Keys — “Fever”
Foo Fighters — “Something From Nothing”
Hozier — “Take Me to Church”

Best Lyrics
John Legend — “All of Me”
Taylor Swift — “Blank Space”
OneRepublic — “Counting Stars”
Tove Lo — “Habits (Stay High)”
Sam Smith — “Stay With Me”
Ed Sheeran — “Thinking Out Loud”

Best Fan Army
5SOSFAM — 5 Seconds of Summer
Arianators — Ariana Grande
Bey Hive — Beyoncé
Team Breezy — Chris Brown
Sheerios — Ed Sheeran
Church Choir — Eric Church
Directioners — One Direction
Selenators — Selena Gomez
Mendes Army — Shawn Mendes
Swifties — Taylor Swift

Brantley Gilbert
Charli XCX
Iggy Azalea
Meghan Trainor


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.