Roy Orbison's First Career-Spanning Comp Out in October - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Roy Orbison’s First Career-Spanning Collection Out in October

26-track ‘Ultimate Collection’ bridges singer’s whole career, from Sun and Monument Records to Traveling Wilburys


Roy Orbison's 'Ultimate Collection,' the singer's first greatest hits compilation to span his entire discography, is due out this October.

Tim Roney/Hulton Archive

Roy Orbison‘s The Ultimate Collection, the singer’s first greatest hits compilation to span his hits across multiple records labels as well as his work with the Traveling Wilburys, is due out this October.

For the 26-track collection, Roy’s Boys, the company founded by Orbison’s sons Alex, Wesley and Roy Jr., combed through their father’s entire discography, from Orbison’s early recordings for Sun Records and Monument Records through his long tenure at MGM to his time as part of the Traveling Wilburys supergroup.

“It is a great honor for me and my brothers, Wesley and Roy Jr., to finally and definitively distill our father’s entire career onto a single disc as best one can possibly do and, certainly, as never done before,” Alex Orbison said in a statement. “It is the result of years of research, archiving and listening, and it is with supreme and heartfelt pleasure that we will be able to share it with the world.”

In addition to Orbison’s biggest hits – “Oh, Pretty Woman,” “Only the Lonely,” “In Dreams,” “Crying,” “Running Scared” and many more – The Ultimate Collection also features tracks like “She’s a Mystery to Me,” written by U2’s Bono and the Edge, his posthumous hit “You Got It” and “I Drove All Night,” a song later popularized by Cyndi Lauper.

The Ultimate Collection is due out as a single CD or double vinyl on October 28th. Preorder the compilation now at Amazon.

The Ultimate Collection Track List

1. “Oh, Pretty Woman”
2. “I Drove All Night”
3. “You Got It”
4. “Crying”
5. “Only The Lonely”
6. “In Dreams”
7. “Love Hurts”
8. “Claudette”
9. “Blue Bayou”
10. “Dream Baby”
11. “Walk On”
12. “Falling”
13. “Running Scared”
14. “California Blue”
15. “Leah”
16. “Mean Woman Blues”
17. “Crawling Back”
18. “Ride Away”
19. “Too Soon To Know”
20. “She’s A Mystery to Me”
21. “Blue Angel”
22. “It’s Over”
23. “Ooby Dooby”
24. “Heartbreak Radio”
25. “Not Alone Anymore” (Traveling Wilburys)
26. “Handle With Care” (Traveling Wilburys)

In This Article: Roy Orbison


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.