Rise Against Preview New LP With Blazing Song 'The Violence' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Rise Against Preview New LP With Blazing Song ‘The Violence’

Chicago hardcore outfit to release eighth album ‘Wolves’ this summer

Chicago hardcore outfit Rise Against detailed their new album Wolves and released the record’s fervent first single, “The Violence.” Wolves will arrive June 9th via Virgin Records.

“The Violence” is packed with jagged guitar riffs and rumbling drums that combine with Tim McIlrath punchy vocals to create a furious tension that finally bursts with a soaring chorus. “Are we not good enough?” McIlrath howls. “Are we not brave enough?/ Is the violence in our nature just the image of our maker?”

Wolves is available to pre-order in digital and physical formats. Rise Against will preview the record for fans with a pair of free shows at the House of Vans in Chicago and Brooklyn, April 21st and 24th respectively. Tickets can be claimed via a ballot system at the House of Vans website. Rise Against will also play the Troubadour in Los Angeles April 26th and embark on a North American tour with the Deftones June 9th in Chicago.

Wolves marks Rise Against’s eighth LP and follows 2014’s The Black Market. The band recorded the album with producer Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Alice in Chains) at his studio in Nashville, forcing the band to relocate from their homes in Chicago and Los Angeles. Of the new setting, McIlrath said, “Living in Nashville drove home that we can’t just focus on our differences. If we can stop and talk to each other, face to face, we might realize our common ground. We are all wolves in the same pack, circling at the gates.” 

Rise Against Wolves Track List

1. “Wolves”
2. “House On Fire”
3. “The Violence”
4. “Welcome To The Breakdown”
5. “Far From Perfect”
6. “Bulls***”
7. “Politics of Love”
8. “Parts Per Million”
9. “Mourning in Amerika”
10. “How Many Walls”
11. “Miracle”

In This Article: Rise Against


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.