Ride Detail First Album in Over 20 Years, 'Weather Diaries' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Ride Detail First Album in Over 20 Years, ‘Weather Diaries’

British shoegazers unveil mind-bending new video for lead single “Charm Assault”

British shoegazers Ride will release their first album in over 20 years, Weather Diaries, June 16th via Wichita Recordings.

Ride also unveiled a mind-bending new video for lead single, “Charm Assault.” The Jean de Oliveira-directed clip is a psychedelic collage that mixes warped archival footage of everyday life, political unrest and military actions with shots of Ride performing the blistering track.

Weather Diaries follows Ride’s 1996 album, Tarantula. DJ Erol Alkan produced the record and longtime collaborator Alan Moulder mixed the record. Moulder previously worked on Ride’s beloved 1990 LP, Nowhere and produced its follow-up, Going Blank Again. Along with “Charm Assault,” Ride previously shared album track, “Home Is a Feeling.”

Ride have a handful of live dates scheduled in support of Weather Diaries, starting July 17th in Toronto and wrapping July 23rd in Washington D.C.

Ride announced their reunion in 2014 after the break-up of Beady Eye, singer/guitarist Andy Bell’s project with Oasis’ Liam Gallagher (Bell previously played in Oasis as well). In February 2015, Bell and co-singer/guitarist Mark Gardener played an intimate acoustic set, after which the full band embarked on a world tour that featured several festival stops, including Coachella.

Ride Weather Diaries Track List

1. “Lannoy Point”
2. “Charm Assault”
3. “All I Want”
4. “Home Is A Feeling”
5. “Weather Diaries”
6. “Rocket Silver Symphony”
7. “Lateral Alice”
8. “Cali”
9. “Integration Tape”
10. “Impermanence”
11. “White Sands”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.