Red Hot Chili Peppers Prep Singles Series - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Red Hot Chili Peppers Prep Singles Series

Eighteen unheard tracks from ‘I’m With You’ sessions to be released over next six months

red hot chili peppersred hot chili peppers

Anthony Kiedis of Red Hot Chili Peppers performs during the Bonnaroo Arts and Music Festival in Manchester, Tennessee.

Douglas Mason/Getty Images

The Red Hot Chili Peppers plan to release 18 unheard songs from the sessions that produced their latest album, I’m With You, over the next six months.

Starting on August 14th with the release of “Strange Man” and “Long Progression,” the group will make each installment available both digitally and as a 7-inch vinyl. “Magpies” and “Victorian Machinery” will follow on September 11th.

“Some songs seem to have a lot more of an agenda than others,” said Chili Peppers guitarist Josh Klinghoffer in a statement. “Some songs play well with others and some songs need more attention and a little extra care. Here are some songs that seemed to want to pair up and take a later train. Keep your eye on them, they’re up to something . . .”

Each 7-inch will also feature cover artwork from Kelsey Brookes, whose radiant, energetic pieces stem from a background in microbiology, surf culture and folk art. According to the statement, fans will also be able to combine all nine of the 7-inch records released in order to create a larger piece of artwork.

These won’t be the only unique releases from RHCP this year: Following their recent induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the group announced a covers EP that found them recording songs by other inductees including Neil Young, the Beach Boys and Iggy & the Stooges. The band is currently touring the world in support of I’m With You, their tenth studio record.


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.