Home Music Music News

Red Hot Chili Peppers Prep Covers EP

May 1st release will commemorate group’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction

Red Hot Chili Peppers 27th Annual Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony

Red Hot Chili Peppers perform at 27th Annual Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame induction ceremony.

Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic

The Red Hot Chili Peppers will release We Salute You on May 1st, an EP of six classic covers to celebrate the group’s recent induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

The EP consists of songs from previous Hall of Fame inductees the Ramones (“Havana Affair”), Iggy & the Stooges (“Search & Destroy”), Neil Young (“Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere”), David Bowie (“Suffragette City”), the Beach Boys (“I Get Around”) and Dion and the Belmonts (“A Teenager In Love”). 

Of the six tracks, five have never been available digitally, though some have been made available on various 7-inch singles, maxi singles and compilations. Three of the recordings are live performances, including “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere,” which was recorded during the Peppers’ current tour in support of their latest album, I’m With You.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame last weekend, with the ceremony set to air on HBO in May. 

Inducting the band, comedian Chris Rock recalled the first time he saw them live: “My friends and I were like, ‘What the fuck is this shit? There’s a lot of white people in here.’ They came out and I couldn’t understand a fucking word they said, and they had socks on their dicks! I had never been to a white show before, so I thought all white groups put socks on their dicks. Years later, they’re one of the biggest groups in the world and getting inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. They have black ties on their dicks tonight.”


Powered by