Radiohead Release New Album 'A Moon Shaped Pool' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Radiohead Release New Album ‘A Moon Shaped Pool’

11-track album features ‘King of Limbs’ holdovers “Identikit” and “Ful Stop” alongside fan favorites like “True Love Waits”

As promised, Radiohead have released A Moon Shaped Pool, the band’s much anticipated ninth studio album and the follow-up to their 2011 LP The King of Limbs. Check out the band’s new A Moon Shaped Pool site for streaming and downloading links.

The previously released “Burn the Witch” and “Daydreaming” aren’t the only familiar songs to Radiohead fans: A Moon Shaped Pool‘s “Ful Stop” and “Identikit” were setlist staples during the band’s tour in support of The King of Limbs, while “Present Tense,” which dates back to 2009, was performed by both Thom Yorke and Atoms for Peace.

“Desert Island Disk” and “The Numbers” (formerly known as “Silent Spring) both debuted during Yorke’s solo Pathway to Paris concert. However, most surprising is the inclusion of “True Love Waits,” a decades-old ballad that was previously released – in concert form – on the band’s 2001 live EP I Might Be Wrong: Live Recordings.

A Moon Shaped Pool will receive a physical CD and vinyl release on June 17th. Additionally, Radiohead will release a special edition of the album in September featuring a case bound album “inspired by the albums for 78rpm shellac records in the library of La Fabrique, France” with two heavyweight LPs, two CDs (the album plus a disc with two additional songs), a 32-page book, an immediate digital download of the album and a “recording tape belly band applied.”

“This is a piece of a Radiohead ½ inch master tape from an actual recording session. The tape degrades over time and becomes unplayable. We thought rather than it ending up as landfill we would cut it up and make it useful as a part of the special edition. A new life for some obsolete technology,” the band wrote. “Each loop contains about ¾ of a second of audio – which could be from any era in the band’s recording past going back to Kid A. You may have silence, you may have coloured leader tape, you may have a chorus… It’s a crapshoot. We have copies. Don’t worry.”

Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich tweeted after the album arrived, “Making this album was a very intense experience for me. I lost my dad in the process…Hence a large piece of my soul lives here in a good way. I eternally thank my brothers in radiohead for all the love that went into it.. and for their support. happy listening all!”

A Moon Shaped Pool Track List
1. “Burn the Witch”
2. “Daydreaming”
3. “Decks Dark”
4. “Desert Island Disk”
5. “Ful Stop”
6. “Glass Eyes”
7. “Identikit”
8. “The Numbers”
9. “Present Tense”
10. “Tinker Tailor Soldier Sailor Rich Man Poor Man Beggar Man Thief”
11. “True Love Waits”

In This Article: Radiohead


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.