Radiohead Lead Featured Artists Coalition, Seek Greater Rights in digital downloads - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Radiohead Lead Featured Artists Coalition, Seek Greater Rights

Radiohead, Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour, the Pretenders’ Chrissie Hynde and Iron Maiden are among the initial artists to sign up for and usher in the launch of the new Featured Artists Coalition. As the music industry continues to shift into the digital age, the Coalition seeks to protect the artist’s rights over their own music. “We want all artists to have more control of their music and a much fairer share of the profits it generates in the digital age,” a statement on the FAC’s website reads. “We speak with one voice to help artists strike a new bargain with record companies, digital distributors and others, and are campaigning for specific changes.” The FAC has also penned a six-step manifesto for “fair play,” including increased compensation for commercial use of their music and changes to copyright law. Other members of the Coalition include Kate Nash, Roxy Music’s Bryan Ferry, Gang of Four, Billy Bragg and the Verve.

Related Stories:
The Future According to Radiohead
Best Festival Band: Radiohead
Musicians Unions Avoiding Digital Rights Fight For Now


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.