Hear Radiohead's Ed O'Brien Preview Solo Album With 'Shangri-La' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien Preview Solo Album With ‘Shangri-La’

Album will be released under the moniker EOB

Radiohead member Ed O’Brien will release his debut solo album, Earth, on April 17th via Capitol Records under the name EOB.

The musician has previewed the upcoming album with “Shangri-La,” which will appear alongside previously released track “Brasil.”

“Thank you to all the incredible musicians who helped me and the people who put it together in the studio,” O’Brien wrote on Twitter. “It was a proper journey getting here. Recorded in Wales and London. Phew, we made it!!”

Earth will feature nine tracks and is available for preorder now. The recording of the album began in the fall of 2017 and concluded in early 2019. The release was produced by Flood and mixed by Alan Moulder, and includes contributions from Omar Hakim, Colin Greenwood, Adam “Cecil” Bartlett, David Okumu, Richie Kennedy, Laura Marling, Adrian Utley, Nathan East and Glenn Kotche.

O’Brien released “Brasil,” a nine-minute single, in December alongside a trippy short film directed by Andrew Donoho. “H.P. Lovecraft, [Stanley] Kubrick, and Junji Ito have created some of my favorite sci-fi narratives,” O’Brien said in a statement about the video. “But I’ve always wanted to reinterpret their horrific premises into a more poetic and optimistic notion. What if an alien or higher being were to come to earth to help us achieve a greater existence, and not to destroy us? What would it look like if everyone on earth shared thoughts, experiences and actions?”

He added, “The theory that humans, as a species, actually represent one large, singular organism has always fascinated me,” he continued, “and I wanted to explore that concept visually through a variety of different character perspectives, mediums, and impressionistic visual effects. All these layers and ideas culminated into our narrative for ‘Brasil.’”

Last October, O’Brien shared his first-ever solo song, “Santa Teresa,” although that one does not appear to have made the album.

Earth Tracklist

1. Shangri-La
2. Brasil
3. Deep Days
4. Long Time Coming
5. Mass
6. Banksters
7. Sail On
8. Olympik
9. Cloak of the Night

In This Article: Ed O'Brien, Radiohead


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.