R.E.M. Collect Unreleased Rarities for 'Out of Time' Reissue - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

R.E.M. Collect Unreleased Demos, Live Rarities for ‘Out of Time’ Reissue

Alt-rock legends prep CD, vinyl, Blu-ray versions with new liner notes featuring interviews with band

R.E.M. will celebrate the 25th anniversary of their seminal 1991 LP Out of Time with a reissue featuring unreleased demos, live performances and music videos.

The reissue arrives November 18th via Concord Bicycle and will be available in three formats: A two-CD set, a three-LP vinyl set and a four-disc CD/Blu-ray collection. The digital version is available to pre-order via Google Play, with physical copies available on Amazon.

All three versions will include a remastered version of the album and demos of every album cut, two non-album B-sides and a previously unreleased track. Music journalist Annie Zaleski also penned a new set of liner notes that include interviews with all four members alongside producers Scott Litt and John Keane.

R.E.M. recorded the demos for Out of Time at Keane’s studio in early 1990. Among the offerings on the reissue are instrumental takes, versions of “Losing My Religion” and “Texarkana” with alternate lyrics and a cut of “Radio Song” with drummer Bill Berry singing lead vocals on one verse.

The four-disc set, meanwhile, also boasts a rare 1991 recording of the band playing at Mountain Stage in Charleston, West Virginia, a rare artifact since R.E.M. did not tour in support of Out of Time. Lastly, the Blu-ray will include hi-resolution and 5.1 surround sound versions of Out of Time, as well as the eight music videos the band made for the LP. The disc will also feature Time Piece, the 1991 electronic press kit with in-studio footage and exclusive performances. A complete track list is below. 

R.E.M. Out of Time Reissue Tracklist

Out of Time (all versions)

1. “Radio Song”
2. “Losing My Religion”
3. “Low”
4. “Near Wild Heaven”
5. “Endgame”
6. “Shiny Happy People”
7. “Belong”
8. “Half A World Away”
9. “Texarkana”
10. “Country Feedback”
11. “Me In Honey”

Out of Time — Demos (all versions)

1. “Losing My Religion 1” (demo)
2. “Near Wild Heaven 1” (demo)
3. “Shiny Happy People 1” (demo)
4. “Texarkana 1” (demo)
5. “Untitled Demo 2”
6. “Radio” – Acoustic (“Radio Song 1” demo)
7. “Near Wild Heaven 2” (demo)
8. “Shiny Happy People 2” (demo)
9. “Slow Sad Rocker” (“Endgame” demo)
10. “Radio” – Band (“Radio Song 3” demo)
11. “Losing My Religion 2” (demo)
12. “Belong” (demo)
13. “Blackbirds” (“Half A World Away” demo)
14. “Texarkana” (demo)
15. “Country Feedback” (demo)
16. “Me On Keyboard” (“Me In Honey” demo)
17. “Low” (demo)
18. “40 Sec.” (40 Second Song demo)
19. “Fretless 1” (demo)

Live at Mountain Stage (four disc version only)

1. “Introduction”
2. “World Leader Pretend”
3. “Radio Song”
4. “Fall On Me”
5. “It’s the End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)”
6. “Half A World Away”
7. “Belong”
8. “Love Is All Around”
9. “Losing My Religion”
10. “Dallas”
11. “Radio Song”
12. “Disturbance At The Heron House”
13. “Low”
14. “Sawn Swan H”
15. “Pop Song 89”

Out of Time — Blu-Ray (four disc version only)

Out Of Time — Hi-Resolution Audio
Out Of Time — 5.1 Surround Sound
“Radio Song” (music video)
“Losing My Religion” (music video)
“Low: (music video)
“Near Wild Heaven” (music video)
“Shiny Happy People” (music video)
“Belong” (music video)
“Half A World Away” (music video)
“Country Feedback” (music video)
Time Piece

In This Article: R.E.M.


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.