Pusha T Plots New Album, 'It's Almost Dry,' Produced by Ye, Pharrell - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Pusha T Details New Album ‘It’s Almost Dry,’ Produced by Kanye West and Pharrell

Follow-up to 2018’s Daytona will feature Jay-Z, Lil Uzi Vert, Kid Cudi, and Don Toliver

Pusha T will release his new album, It’s Almost Dry, this Friday, April 22.

The album, co-produced by Kanye West and Pharrell Williams/The Neptunes, marks Pusha’s first in four years, following 2018s Daytona. It’s Almost Dry will feature the previously released tracks, “Neck and Wrist,” featuring Jay-Z and produced by Pharrell; “Diet Coke,” produced by West and 88-Keys; and “Hear Me Clearly,” another Pharrell-produced song that also appeared on I Know Nigo, a new project from a Bathing Ape founder Nigo. 

Along with Ye, Jay-Z, and Pharrell, It’s Almost Dry will feature additional guest spots from Lil Uzi Vert, Kid Cudi, and Don Toliver. The album’s final track, “I Pray for You,” will boast the English singer Labrinth and Pusha’s brother and Clipse bandmate, Malice. A full track list is below.

(It’s Almost Dry will also feature what could be the last collaboration between Ye and Kid Cudi, “Rock N Roll”: Cudi noted on Twitter that the song was made a year ago, when he and Ye were “still cool,” but things have changed since. “I am not cool w that man. He’s not my friend and I only cleared the song for Pusha cuz thats my guy. This is the last song u will hear me on w Kanye.”)

Like much of the rapper’s work, the title, It’s Almost Dry, is a double entendre. As he tells Rolling Stone, “I’m always creating a masterpiece and in the creation of that in terms of a painting, you end up telling people while they waiting on it, ‘It’s almost dry,’ because they’re always asking, ‘When will it be done?’ And you have to wait on masterpieces,” he says. “Also in drug culture, a lot of times you’ll have people waiting on the product and it’s not dry yet. You can come get it when it’s dry.”

Pusha points to the new track “Just So You Remember Who You Dealin With” as a personal standout on the 12-song, 40-minute set. “The title says it all,” he says. “I never want people to ever forget who they dealin’ with.” Asked what guests appear on the song, Pusha goes into full jovial barker mode. “Ain’t no guests! Those are all me! Rap-wise, I’m the star of my show, are you kiddin’ me?”

Over the past few years, the rapper has taken on a more docile lifestyle with the birth of his son in June 2020. “That’s why I made ‘Just So You Remember Who You Dealin With,’” he says. “People have been watching me post [pictures] of my son for 20 months now and they see me calm. But naw, [the song] is about my mentality and mindset. I can tap back in whenever I’m ready and need to.”

To mark the album’s arrival, Pusha T will perform on The Tonight Show this Thursday, April 21. He’s also set to embark on a North American tour in support of the record next month, with the trek kicking off May 29 in Seattle and wrapping June 23 in Philadelphia; tickets are on sale now via Pusha T’s website.

It’s Almost Dry Track List
1. “Brambleton”
2. “Dreamin of the Past” (Feat. Ye)
3. “Neck and Wrist (Feat. Jay-Z and Pharrell)
4. “Just So You Remember”
5. “Diet Coke”
6. “Rock N Roll” (Feat. Kid Cudi and Ye)
7. “Call My Bluff”
8. “Scrape It Off the Top” (Feat. Don Tolliver and Lil Uzi Vert)
9. “Hear Me Clearly”
10. “Open Air”
11. “I Pray for You” (Feat. Malice and Labrinth)

This story was updated 4/19/22 at 1:53 p.m. ET with the full track list and features for It’s Almost Dry.

In This Article: Pusha T


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.