Prophets of Rage Prep Debut EP 'The Party's Over' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Prophets of Rage Prep Debut EP ‘The Party’s Over’

Rage Against the Machine/Public Enemy/Cypress Hill supergroup will release five-track set in August

prophets of rage, rage against the machine, cypress hill, public enemy, tom morello, prophets of rage tour, prophets of rage album, prophets of rage ep, prophets of rage the party's over, prophets of rage live

Rap-rock supergroup Prophets of Rage will release their debut EP, 'The Party's Over,' in August

Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic/Getty

Prophets of Rage, the supergroup featuring members of Rage Against the Machine, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill, will release its debut EP, The Party’s Over, on August 26th via Caroline Records.

The five-track set will be available for pre-order on August 19th, the same day as their Make America Rage Again Tour. Prior to the release, two tracks will premiere on Apple Music’s Beats 1 radio station: A live version of “No Sleep Til Cleveland” will debut via Matt Wilkinson’s show on August 18th, and “The Party’s Over” will hit Zane Lowe’s show on the 25th.

The Party’s Over follows the band’s concert template by showcasing material from all three bands. Along with two originals, the EP includes live versions of Public Enemy’s “Shut Em Down” and Rage Against the Machine’s “Killing in the Name” and their updated studio version of Public Enemy’s “Prophets of Rage,” featuring a new original verse from B-Real. (The latter track is available to stream at the band’s official website.)

Prophets of Rage – guitarist Tom Morello, bassist Tim Commerford, drummer Brad Wilk, rapper Chuck D, rapper B-Real, turntablist DJ Lord – emerged this summer and made headlines with their July protest performance in Cleveland near the RNC.

“We’ve come back to remind everyone what raging against the machine really means,” Morello told Rolling Stone of the band’s vision. “It’s a voice that’s been missing too long in the national/international dialogue and it’s back. What better place than here? What better time than now?”

Prophets of Rage – The Party’s Over Track List

1. “Prophets of Rage”
2. “The Party’s Over”
3.  “Killing in the Name” (live)
4.  “Shut Em Down” (live)
5.  “No Sleep Til Cleveland” (live)

Find out five things we learned from Prophets of Rage. Watch here.


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.