Pretty Lights Presents 'A Color Map of the Sun Remixes' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Pretty Lights Presents ‘A Color Map of the Sun Remixes’

Stream the reworked fourth album from Derek Vincent Smith

Album Premiere, Pretty LightsAlbum Premiere, Pretty Lights

Pretty Lights

Christian Smith

A Color Map of the Sun, the fourth album from Derek Vincent Smith, was the first Pretty Lights album composed entirely by Smith. The result is a grooving LP anchored by thumping drums and dreamy soundscapes. By contrast, the companion record A Color Map of the Sun Remixes finds sixteen other artists radically overhauling his originals into something more impulsive and aggressive.

See the 30 Greatest EDM Albums of All Time

Remixes reworkings show how far Pretty Lights’ music can be stretched while retaining the core identity. See Datsik’s “Around the Block,” which keeps Talib Kweli‘s refrain but adds dubstep robotic rumbling and hard-hitting sound effects like alarms. The Two Fresh’s “All I’ve Ever Known” strips back the original’s thick layers, revealing the melody at the track’s core and making an already creepy song much more disturbing. Elliot Lipp’s “Sweet Song Life,” with its well-placed soaring synths, morphs Smith’s original from a dark murkiness to a sunny dance tune.

Who Are the 25 DJs That Rule the Earth?

A Color Map of the Sun Remixes will be released December 10th. In the meantime, you can catch him on tour.

In This Article: Pretty Lights


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.