Pretenders Team With Dan Auerbach for New Album 'Alone' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Pretenders Team With Dan Auerbach for New Album ‘Alone’

Chrissie Hynde hosts rock revival on spry first single “Holy Commotion”

The Pretenders have unveiled an invigorating new song, “Holy Commotion,” set to appear on their upcoming Dan Auerbach-produced LP, Alone, out October 21st via BMG.

“Holy Commotion” opens with a driving beat and glittering synth line that soon tangles with a serpentine guitar riff as Chrissie Hynde presides over a rock & roll tent revival. “I just want, I want, I want to see the light,” she sings, delivering the hook with a smokey croon. “I just want, I want, I want to dance all night/ So be my baby!”

Alone marks the first Pretenders record since 2008’s Break Up the Concrete and is currently available to pre-order with an instant download of “Holy Commotion” A complete track list is below.

Hynde initially conceived Alone as a follow-up to her 2014 solo album, Stockholm, but after shaping several songs with Auerbach — a fellow Akron, Ohio native — the record revealed itself to be a Pretenders LP. The pair recorded the album at Auerbach’s Nashville studio, Easy Eye, alongside an array of Nashville studio vets including bassist Dave Roe, pedal steel player Russ Pahl, guitarist Kenny Vaughan, keyboardist Leon Michels and drummer Richard Swift. Legendary rockabilly guitarist Duane Eddy also appears on album cut “Never Be Together.”

The Pretenders are also set to kick off a North American tour with Stevie Nicks October 25th at the Talking Stick Arena in Phoenix. 

The Pretenders’ Alone Track List

1. “Alone Song”
2. “Roadie Man”
3. “Gotta Wait”
4. “Never Be Together”
5. “Let’s Get Lost”
6. “Chord Lord”
7. “Blue Eyed Sky”
8. “Be The Man That You Are”
9. “One More Day”
10. “I Hate Myself”
11. “Death Is Not Enough”
12. “Holy Commotion”

In This Article: Dan Auerbach, The Pretenders


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.