Pixies Compile Recent Material on New Album, 'Indie Cindy' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Pixies Compile Recent EPs on New Album, ‘Indie Cindy’

The Gil Norton-produced LP is first album in 23 years

Pixies Black Francis

Pixies perform in London.

Jim Dyson/Redferns via Getty Images

Pixies have officially announced their new album, Indie Cindy, their first full-length since 1991’s Trompe le Monde. The 12-track, Gil Norton-produced LP will be released through the band’s own label, Pixiesmusic, on April 29th (with a Japanse release date of April 23rd and a UK/European/International date of April 28th).

Readers’ Poll: The 10 Best Pixies Songs

“We started seriously talking about recording new music about four years ago,” drummer David Lovering said in a statement. “New music seemed like something we just had to do; we just couldn’t continue to go out and tour without anything new. So the talk evolved into writing and recording, and we’re all very happy with the way everything worked out.”

The album finds the band as a trio (Lovering, frontman Black Francis and guitarist Joey Santiago), following the June 2013 departure of longtime bassist Kim Deal (and the subsequent revolving door of replacements, including the now-departed Kim Shattuck). Norton reunites with the band after producing 1989’s Doolittle, 1990’s Bossanova and 1991’s Trompe le Monde.

The album – recorded in October 2012 at Rockfield Studios in Wales – includes the band’s unexpected recent track “Bagboy,” along with the entirety of their previous three EPs (September 2013’s EP-1, January’s EP-2 and the recently released EP-3). 

While the EPs were previously only available as a download and limited-edition vinyl, Indie Cindy will be released in a variety of formats: a standard CD digipak with booklet; a two-disc, deluxe gatefold album on 180-gram vinyl; a 12-track digital download and an expanded iTunes exclusive download featuring a bonus 13-track concert set recorded during the band’s recent North American tour.

A limited-edition two-disc set (5,000 total) featuring the album (both on CD and vinyl), concert and a 40-page hardback book will be available on the band’s website. The two-disc, deluxe gatefold, 180-gram vinyl set will also be available a week early as part of this year’s Record Store Day event. 

The group released the crime-ridden video for “Snakes” in conjunction with the album announcement. In the new clip, a group of papier mache-headed bandits plan a robbery — one that doesn’t involve stealing other bobble heads — only to have their candy-filled heads bashed in by a rival gang. It’s a sweetly sickening clip that’s equal parts whimsical and disturbing.

The regular-edition tracklist is below:

1. What Goes Boom
2. Greens and Blues
3. Indie Cindy
4. Bagboy
5. Magdalena 318
6. Silver Snail
7. Blue Eyed Hexe
8. Ring the Bell
9. Another Toe in the Ocean
10. Andro Queen
11. Snakes
12. Jaime Bravo

In This Article: Indie Cindy, Pixies


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.