Phil Collins Details New Retrospective Reissues - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Phil Collins Details ‘Hello I Must Be Going!,’ ‘Dance Into The Light’ Reissues

Albums are second set of releases in ‘Take a Look at Me Now’ retrospective series

Phil CollinsPhil Collins

Phil Collins has revealed details of the next two albums in his "Take a Look at Me Now" retrospective series

Thomas Niedermueller/Getty

Phil Collins has detailed the next two albums in his upcoming “Take a Look at Me Now” retrospective series that will examine how his songs have evolved throughout his career. After unveiling the January 29th release of Face Value and Both Sides, the singer revealed Thursday that 1982’s Hello I Must Be Going! and 1996’s Dance into The Light will follow on February 26th.

The new versions of the albums were personally curated by Collins and will house the original versions alongside live takes of the tracks, demos and B-sides. The sets are remastered by Nick Davis, who also worked on the reissue campaign of Collins’ former band, Genesis.

Each reissue will be available as remastered 2-CD and digital versions along with the additional content. They will also be available in 180-gram vinyl format, which features the remastered album as a standalone product. The artwork will be revisited, too, with Collins recreating his poses from the original covers.

Collins’ sophomore album, Hello, I Must Be Going!, was originally released in 1982. It houses his interpretation of The Supremes’ “You Can’t Hurry Love,” which became his first solo No. 1 single. The album hit No. 2 and later earned him his first Grammy and Brit Award nominations. Dance into The Light found Collins exploring world music elements and the album and title track both reached the Top 10. It contains his cover of Bob Dylan’s “The Times They Are A-Changin’.”

The series was originally planned to launch in November, but was postponed until this month due to Collins’ emergency back surgery. 

Hello, I Must Be Going!: Deluxe Edition Track List

1. “I Don’t Care Anymore”
2. “I Cannot Believe it’s True”
3. “Like China”
4. “Do You Know, Do You Care?”
5. “You Can’t Hurry Love”
6. “It Don’t Matter to Me”
7. “Thru These Walls”
8. “Don’t Let Him Steal Your Heart Away”
9. “The West Side”
10. “Why Can’t It Wait ‘Til Morning?”

Bonus Tracks

1. “I Don’t Care Anymore” – Live
2. “I Cannot Believe it’s True” – Live
3. “Like China” – Live
4. “You Can’t Hurry Love” – Live
5. “It Don’t Matter to Me” – Live
6. “The West Side – Live Rehearsal
7. “People Get Ready” – Live
8. “Thru These Walls” – Live
9. “It’s Alright” – Live
10. “Oddball – Demo of “Do You Know, Do You Care?”
11. “Don’t Let Him Steal Your Heart Away” – Demo

Dance into the Light: Deluxe Edition Track List

1. “Dance into the Light”
2. “That’s What You Said”
3. “Lorenzo”
4. “Just Another Story”
5. “Love Police”
6. “Wear My Hat”
7. “It’s In Your Eyes”
8. “Oughta Know by Now”
9. “Take Me Down”
10. “The Same Moon”
11. “River So Wide”
12. “No Matter Who”
13. “The Times They Are A-Changin'”

Bonus Tracks

1. “Dance into the Light” – Live
2. “Just Another Story” – Live
3. “Wear My Hat” – Live
4. “River So Wide” – Live
5. “Take Me Down” – Live
6. “Lorenzo” – Demo
7. “That’s What You Said” – Demo
8. “Another Time” – B-side
9. “It’s Over” – B-side
10. “I Don’t Wanna Go” – B-side

In This Article: Phil Collins


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.