Petty, Harris Join Zevon CD - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Petty, Harris Join Zevon CD

“My Dirty Life and Times” almost finished

Warren Zevon’s new studio album, which has the working title of “My
Dirty Life and Times,” is nearing completion. The singer-songwriter
plans to add some more vocals over the next couple weeks.

Tom Petty, Mike Campbell, Emmylou Harris and Joe Walsh have
recently joined the guest list for what will be Zevon’s final
album, as he was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer in August.
Bruce Springsteen, Bob Dylan, Jackson Browne, Don Henley, Ry
Cooder, Dwight Yoakam, David Lindley, Timothy B. Schmit, Jim
Keltner, John Waite, Billy Bob Thornton and Zevon’s son Jordan are
among those who had previously made contributions to the album.
Zevon has also recorded a cover of Dylan’s “Knockin’ on Heaven’s
Door” for possible inclusion. The recording will be the follow-up
to 2002’s My Ride’s Here.

“What I’ve told myself,” Zevon said last fall, “is that it’s a
good idea to be able to say goodbye to yourself, one hopes fondly,
and that you’ll be at peace with everyone you know.”

In other Zevon news, three of his older albums will be reissued
by Capitol on May 6th. Fans with an itch to hear “Leave My Monkey
Alone” in Spanish will get their wish thanks to a bonus track on a
new edition of his 1987 set, Sentimental Hygiene. His 1969
debut, Wanted Dead or Alive, and 1989’s Transverse
round out the set.

Wanted was recorded and released during a period when
Zevon was writing advertising jingles and songs for the likes of
the Turtles, as well as serving as keyboardist and bandleader for
the Everly Brothers. The album failed to reap any rewards for
Zevon, who wouldn’t record and release a follow-up until his
Jackson Browne-produced, self-titled album seven years later.

Hygiene finds Zevon backed by R.E.M., with other
friends making guest appearances: Dylan adds harmonica to “The
Factory,” Neil Young plays guitar on the title track and George
Clinton produces “Leave My Monkey Alone.” In addition to the
Spanish-language “Monkey,” the reissue will include “Nocturne” as a
bonus track.

The Transverse City reissue features guest spots by
Young, Jerry Garcia, Chick Corea and late Tom Petty and the
Heartbreakers bassist Howie Epstein. An acoustic demo of
“Networking” is the bonus track.


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.